BlackBerryOS.com - Reviews
  • Reviews RSS Feed

    by Published on 06-13-2011 04:56 PM
    Categories:
    1. BlackBerry PlayBook,
    2. BlackBerry Apps



    Drums For BlackBerry PlayBook is a must for anyone from tone-deaf music making enthusiasts, to budding musicians and expert instrumentalists. Drums are played by simply tapping on the drum, cymbal, or kick with your fingers. Multitouch is supported so you can play on two drums simultaneously. You can download in BlackBerry App Wold for $1.99. Check out some of the features below:

    • A full drum kit set. 18 different kit sounds including a rock kit, electronic kit, hip-hop kit plus many more!
    • Adjustable volume - change the volume of the drum kit to suit your audience. Adjustable sustain - change the length of the sound played.
    • Adjustable pan - change the stereo output of the drum kit. Visual feedback of hit drums.

    View Comments
    by Published on 06-11-2011 05:11 AM
    Categories:
    1. BlackBerry Devices,
    2. BlackBerry Software


    [Mobile? Click Here for Video]

    In this video I give a quick side by side comparison of BlackBerry Messenger compared to Apple's new messaging platform, iMessage. Keep in mind that iMessage is still in beta so this version may not be the final version that is released this fall when iOS 5 becomes official. At this point in time, I'd have to say that BlackBerry Messenger is still a better option. iMessage doesn't offer that customization that BBM has. But I do say that Apple has the upper hand with video chat integration right from the Messages app. But this can also be seen as a completely different feature all together.

    The video was meant to just touch on the main points of each software, so if you have any questions or comments, or if I missed something you would like to point out, please let me know. I'd love to hear your opinion.


    View Comments
    by Published on 06-10-2011 05:47 AM
    Categories:
    1. BlackBerry Devices,
    2. BlackBerry PlayBook




    We are now well into the second month since the release of the BlackBerry PlayBook into the hands of the BlackBerry user. I'd like to approach this review with some simple and brief explanations on how far the PlayBook has come in the relatively short time since it's been available, as well as go over some of it's main features. I've had the PlayBook for about 4 weeks now and I feel like I'm ready to thrown in my hat to be able to give an honest and informative review. Below, I'll be going over the main categories I feel most important that cover the basis for the PlayBook experience, as well as a few rants of my own. The tablet I have in hand for this review is a 16GB WiFi model that sells for $499 retail. Current PlayBook OS is OS v1.0.5.2304, which was released on 6/7. Let's get to it!...

    View Comments
    by Published on 06-09-2011 11:52 PM
    Categories:
    1. Accessory Reviews


    Regardless of how careful we try to be with our devices, we are always bound to drop it off a table or some other object. Many search for the perfect case that brings comfort, but also protection. Today, we'll take a few moments to look at the Otterbox Commuter Series Case for Bold 9700/9780.

    View Comments
    by Published on 06-09-2011 02:09 AM
    Categories:
    1. BlackBerry Themes



    I am glad to say that after a couple of weeks of no Theme Thursdays (Oh the horror :O), it's back up and ready to go. I know you're keen to start, so well, here goes!

    If you have been reading my past theme reviews (if you haven't, it's alright, I forgive you), you would notice a recurring feature in the themes I review. Whether it's the best selling theme in the BBOS store or not is not a factor in the desicion on which theme to pick, but I do have some 'rules', if somewhat very vague rules. The main feature I look for in themes is that it has to be somewhat original. The icons, the layout, the general idea, must be originally created. Ocean is one of those themes which scream out creativity.



    Contest: MMMOOO has kindly given us 10 copies to pass on to you. Simply leave a comment for your chance to win a free copy! Contest entry ends Midnight, June 16th. Winners will be announced shortly thereafter.
    View Comments
    by Published on 05-31-2011 05:05 AM
    Categories:
    1. BlackBerry Devices


    [Mobile? Click Here for Video]

    Thanks to Vietnamese site, Tinhte.vn, we get to see a nice 7:41 minute video demo of the upcoming Curve 9360 device! The device is running the BlackBerry 6 operating system, so I imagine that it's an early prototype - which means the hardware could be outdated as well. They also do a quick compare to the Curve 8900 device. Check out the video above for all the angles, and be sure to leave us some feedback in the comments!


    View Comments
    by Published on 05-31-2011 01:08 AM
    Categories:
    1. BlackBerry Apps




    It's App Tuesday! You know what that means. It means we have yet another insider's secret to share with you. Forget about paying almost three dollars for a 30 second ringtone because we don't want you to do that! Who wants pay three dollars for each ringtone when you can create an unlimited amount of ringtones from your very own song collection by just downloading the MP3 Ringtone Creator app.

    "[This app] is easy to use app to personalize your phone... It is certainly one of my must haves!" says one customer.
    Easily create your own ringtones directly from your BlackBerry. Here's what you can do, check this out:
    • Simply choose a song, select a starting point and save your new Ringtone file
    • Advanced users can also set the end point if desired
    • Provides the ability to add a fade in, fade out effect to your Ringtone

    View Comments
    by Published on 05-20-2011 03:35 AM
    Categories:
    1. BlackBerry Devices,
    2. BlackBerry PlayBook


    [Mobile? Click Here for Video]

    Were you under the impression from early reviews that the PlayBook's power button was basically going to be useless? After reading over many of the first reviews on the PlayBook, I was sold that I was not going to be using the power button, and that it was the worst piece of hardware on the device. Until... I got my hand on the tablet myself. I then realized that the PlayBook's power button is by far the best I have seen on a tablet. It does take bit more pressure to push than the iPad's power button, but that's what one would want in a power button to protect against accidental pushes. All the criticisms that it was "too hard to push", "had to dig my nail at it", "didn't stick out far enough", were simply over exaggerations in my opinion. As I demonstrate in the video above, you won't have to worry about using the power button. In fact, I never even noticed it was a problem since I laid hands on the tablet. How about you? Agree?, disagree? Let us know.


    View Comments
    by Published on 05-19-2011 05:15 AM
    Categories:
    1. BlackBerry Themes



    Wakai by Hedone Design is one of those themes that you love at first sight. Everything is professional-the layout, the icons, and all the other little pieces of this theme that make it a whole.

    When I first used Wakai, I was amazed at how functional it was. Almost every useful application has a shortcut on the homescreen, which makes it extremely useful to the user. Messages, BBM, and even Ringtones are available on the homescreen menu, which shows you that the developer made sure to include everything the user could want. Continue reading review...

    View Comments
    by Published on 05-13-2011 08:33 PM
    Categories:
    1. App Reviews,
    2. BlackBerry Apps


    [Mobile? Click Here for Video]

    Douglas from Inside BlackBerry Blog goes over how adding Super Apps characteristics will extend the functionality and stickiness of a BlackBerry smartphone app. In the above video, Mike from Xtreme Labs shows how something as seemingly simple as a weather application can leverage Super Apps characteristics to become a valuable tool in your daily life. He also goes over the basic definition of what a Super App is in comparison to a regular app. Even better news, you can download AccuWeather for FREE in BlackBerry App World. Leave us a comment and let us know what you think of this highly integrated Super App!


    View Comments
    by Published on 05-12-2011 04:35 PM
    Categories:
    1. BlackBerry Themes



    In this week's Theme Thursday, I am going to review De-Lexion by Walker Themes. This intricately designed theme is one-of-a-kind, like all of Walker Theme's work. With stunning graphics and an amazing feel, this will be a keeper.

    Contest: Walker Themes has kindly given us 10 copies to pass on to you. Simply leave a comment for your chance to win a free copy! Contest entry ends Midnight, May 19th. Winners will be announced shortly thereafter.

    View Comments
    by Published on 05-09-2011 01:46 PM
    Categories:
    1. BlackBerry PlayBook,
    2. BlackBerry Apps


    [Mobile? Click Here for Video]

    With BlackBerry World 2011 behind us, we have taken a moment to reflect back on some good news that we missed last week. One demo worthy of showing is Poynt's integration of BlackBerry push services to their BB smartphone via PlayBook. With push services being one of the hottest items about BlackBerry, Poynt does a great job at utilizing this feature. In the above video, Peter Werry from Poynt, gives a walk-through of how their app works with push and other innovative uses of BlackBerry services. Poynt is a free app that you can download from their site or BlackBerry App World.

    Are you a Poynt user? Leave us feedback on how the app works for you.


    View Comments
    by Published on 04-27-2011 04:00 PM
    Categories:
    1. BlackBerry Themes



    Created by Guzzl3r, Buuf Deuce is a theme which is originally named, in my opinion. This theme has almost everything that a theme buyer would want, including a really nice looking HTC-style clock, custom-made icons, a hidden today, and room for extra icons on the homescreen, while delivering it to you perfectly.

    The first look at this theme will leave you with a feeling that it is clunky-in the sense that it's an eyesore. However, using this theme for a few minutes will most definitely prove you wrong. The homscreen features a HTC-style clock with a weather slot, a dock, a hidden dock, and a normal banner with a clock, date and weather slot. Above this, there is a hidden today feature-click on the notifications bar, and a today screen shows up, with previews for your calendar items and new messages.

    Many keyboard shortcuts are included, which are:
    • alt+D shows the first dock.
    • alt+S shows the second-hidden-dock.
    • alt+C hides the HTC clock and shows the normal banner.
    • Alt+X hides the banner and shows the HTC clock.
      And lastly;
    • The Escape button hides the dock that was active, so that you have no docks visible.

    View Comments
    by Published on 04-15-2011 03:14 AM
    Categories:
    1. BlackBerry Themes




    Fast and functional. Those were the first two words that popped into my head after 5 minutes of using Aero Center by KD Themes. This theme is perfect for everybody who owns a blackberry, whether for personal use or for business. Inspired by Window's Media Center, there are many things which make this theme unique.

    The homescreen has numerous features, all which, in my opinion, increase the functionality of this theme. There is a vertical sliding dock, with sub-sections that contain all of the most-used parts of the Blackberry OS, such as SMS and MMS, Blackberry Messenger, and Sound profiles. When on the main 'menu', the user can select the app they would like to use by moving the trackpad left or right, or can select other sub-sections by moving the trackpad up or down. In addition to all that, there is an dock, where the first 6 icons on the application screen show. This, combined with the Windows Media Center-like menu, will render your application screen redundant.

    View Comments
    by Published on 04-08-2011 10:53 AM
    Categories:
    1. App Reviews,
    2. How-To, Help, Tips



    Last week, BlackBerry Messenger v6.0.0.56 was leaked from an extracted OS 6.1 leaked build. Many individuals who initially tried to install it ran into bricked devices. Within 48 hours (thanks Poita316 & Firesail2010) we were able to create a step-by-step installation for our readers.

    This new version of BBM brings tons of UI & tweaks that are much welcomed.

    The ability to choose specific colors for each BBM contact is a feature that should have been included years ago! I find it much easier to differentiate between what I'm writing & what my contacts are typing back to me.

    There is a slight lag within the application, but the overall use is smooth. Many are stating that they've had memory leaks or battery drain from this leak.

    OS 6.1 icons abound & they bring a more friendly look to BBM.

    If you wish to install this leaked version of BBM, please follow the instructions below carefully:

    1. Make sure you have a Stock BBM (5.0.1.49 seems to work well) *Do NOT delete*
    2. Install BlackBerry ID app (BlackBerry ID [OS6] - Downloads - BBH-Plus Forums)
    3. Install BBM 6.0.0.56 (http://bb-h.me/bbm60056)
    4. If prompted to overwrite, please say YES
    Warning 1: This new BBM can only be installed on OS 6 devices. OS 5 is NOT compatible.
    Warning 2: Although we have created a process that has been successful at installing BBM 6, the process is not guaranteed to work on your device. If you choose to install, BlackBerryOS is not accountable for any malfunction that may happen to your device.
    View Comments

    Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast