Netbook help
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Netbook help

  1. #1
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times

    Netbook help

    OK I consider myself pretty darn computer savvy I mean I can build the damn things LOL, but for the life of me I can't figure this out.

    I just bought an Acer netbook and love it but I am having an issue where when I open up a program (For instance Corel Paint) the file, edit windows run past the task bar. So in order to get the bottom buttons I have to reduce the task bar all the way. No in all my other programs I get a scroll arrow that allows me to scoll up and down the menu. I have set the task bar to not be on top but that gets annoying having to reduce the window I am working in just to get to the task bar. Can anyone throw me a bone lol




  2. #2
    bbcrackman's Avatar
    bbcrackman is offline BlackBerryOS Grand Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    PIN
    yes
    Device
    9000/9530/9630/
    OS
    5.0.0.3xx
    Posts
    2,902
    Liked
    5 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan View Post
    OK I consider myself pretty darn computer savvy I mean I can build the damn things LOL, but for the life of me I can't figure this out.

    I just bought an Acer netbook and love it but I am having an issue where when I open up a program (For instance Corel Paint) the file, edit windows run past the task bar. So in order to get the bottom buttons I have to reduce the task bar all the way. No in all my other programs I get a scroll arrow that allows me to scoll up and down the menu. I have set the task bar to not be on top but that gets annoying having to reduce the window I am working in just to get to the task bar. Can anyone throw me a bone lol
    Has Stiefler been playing with it????

  3. #3
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by bbcrackman View Post
    Has Stiefler been playing with it????
    You would think :lmao: I tell you it is driving me nuts :banghead:

  4. #4
    bbcrackman's Avatar
    bbcrackman is offline BlackBerryOS Grand Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    PIN
    yes
    Device
    9000/9530/9630/
    OS
    5.0.0.3xx
    Posts
    2,902
    Liked
    5 times
    Since I havent messed with my wifes netbook it is hard for me to say.

    Are all your other programs displaying correctly?

    Is it a display setting issue?

    Does Corel have display or layout settings?

  5. #5
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by bbcrackman View Post
    Since I havent messed with my wifes netbook it is hard for me to say.

    Are all your other programs displaying correctly?

    Is it a display setting issue?

    Does Corel have display or layout settings?
    See I haven't ran a lot of programs on here yet as it is still pretty new. I know mozilla displays correctly and some of the basic ones. I have looked through corel and can't find anything setting wise.

  6. #6
    bbcrackman's Avatar
    bbcrackman is offline BlackBerryOS Grand Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    PIN
    yes
    Device
    9000/9530/9630/
    OS
    5.0.0.3xx
    Posts
    2,902
    Liked
    5 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan View Post
    See I haven't ran a lot of programs on here yet as it is still pretty new. I know mozilla displays correctly and some of the basic ones. I have looked through corel and can't find anything setting wise.
    Is your display setting set at 24bit?

  7. #7
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by bbcrackman View Post
    Is your display setting set at 24bit?
    it is at 32

  8. #8
    bbcrackman's Avatar
    bbcrackman is offline BlackBerryOS Grand Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    PIN
    yes
    Device
    9000/9530/9630/
    OS
    5.0.0.3xx
    Posts
    2,902
    Liked
    5 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan View Post
    it is at 32
    I was reading that for paint to display correctly it needs to be set at 24bit

    seems odd to have to keep changing display settings everytime you want to use it though

  9. #9
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by bbcrackman View Post
    I was reading that for paint to display correctly it needs to be set at 24bit

    seems odd to have to keep changing display settings everytime you want to use it though
    Hmm I don't even have a 24 bit option on this one only 16 and 32

  10. #10
    apuntsel's Avatar
    apuntsel is offline BlackBerryOS Gifted
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Device
    HTC Thunderbolt
    OS
    Android
    Posts
    262
    Liked
    2 times
    Can you try changing the screen resolution to a higher setting? It will make the image look smaller, but the display should become wider allowing the screen display to fit better.
    Theme: bDroidX · Apps: Supra eKey, SmrtGuard, MeterBerry, Google Maps, Berry Weather, CaptureIt, BBFileScout, Visual VoiceMail, Mortgage Payment Calculator, BubbleBurst, StormSlots, Hangman

  11. #11
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by apuntsel View Post
    Can you try changing the screen resolution to a higher setting? It will make the image look smaller, but the display should become wider allowing the screen display to fit better.
    Thanks AP

    I thought of that as well and my display is already maxed out at 1024x768 and I can't go any higher.

    I cam up with a fix (I don't like it) but it works for now. I moved the task bar to the right side of the pc, but now my viewing area is even smaller lol.

    It will work until one of our awesome members swoops in with a fix lol

  12. #12
    jasonfyc's Avatar
    jasonfyc is offline BlackBerryOS Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Walla Walla Wa
    PIN
    ned her ag
    Device
    Storm
    OS
    8959765.655we80.754.
    Posts
    1,290
    Liked
    3 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan View Post
    Hmm I don't even have a 24 bit option on this one only 16 and 32
    Same problem with my wifes netbook. But it was after an adobe up date. now the reason I noticed it was the adobe, was it did the same thing to my p.c.:fing02:

  13. #13
    apuntsel's Avatar
    apuntsel is offline BlackBerryOS Gifted
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Device
    HTC Thunderbolt
    OS
    Android
    Posts
    262
    Liked
    2 times
    I'm gonna guess that it is a bug in Corel's software ... Some programs like MS Office adjust the drop down menus to show the most recent used or common used items and you can have it show all. Corel probably did not take into consideration that it may be used on a netbook where the display resolution can only go up to 1024x768 (though Acer's notes show a max of 1024x600 on both the 8.9" screen and the 10.1" screen). Once you have the drop down box open, you might be able to use the up/down arrows to move the cursor to the appropriate task you want.
    Theme: bDroidX · Apps: Supra eKey, SmrtGuard, MeterBerry, Google Maps, Berry Weather, CaptureIt, BBFileScout, Visual VoiceMail, Mortgage Payment Calculator, BubbleBurst, StormSlots, Hangman

  14. #14
    jasonfyc's Avatar
    jasonfyc is offline BlackBerryOS Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Walla Walla Wa
    PIN
    ned her ag
    Device
    Storm
    OS
    8959765.655we80.754.
    Posts
    1,290
    Liked
    3 times
    Oh sh#$! :34:Sorry reset back to factory default display settings. After about three reboots
    and and regular use it goes away. I couldn't get an answer from anybody why.:fing02:

  15. #15
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by apuntsel View Post
    I'm gonna guess that it is a bug in Corel's software ... Some programs like MS Office adjust the drop down menus to show the most recent used or common used items and you can have it show all. Corel probably did not take into consideration that it may be used on a netbook where the display resolution can only go up to 1024x768 (though Acer's notes show a max of 1024x600 on both the 8.9" screen and the 10.1" screen). Once you have the drop down box open, you might be able to use the up/down arrows to move the cursor to the appropriate task you want.
    Thanks AP I never thought to use the arrow keys LOL

    And I missed typed earlier my display options are only 1024x600 and 800 x600 and I can't stand 800 option lol.

    I will use the arrow keys :You_Rock_Emoticon:

  16. #16
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jasonfyc View Post
    Oh sh#$! :34:Sorry reset back to factory default display settings. After about three reboots
    and and regular use it goes away. I couldn't get an answer from anybody why.:fing02:
    reset what Jason? and where?

  17. #17
    jasonfyc's Avatar
    jasonfyc is offline BlackBerryOS Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Walla Walla Wa
    PIN
    ned her ag
    Device
    Storm
    OS
    8959765.655we80.754.
    Posts
    1,290
    Liked
    3 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan View Post
    reset what Jason? and where?
    :damnit:Man I'm tired! Display settings!:headache:

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •