alltel to vzw phone help
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: alltel to vzw phone help

  1. #1
    jnepsa's Avatar
    jnepsa is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    ohio
    PIN
    ch me then
    Device
    9550 Storm 2
    OS
    5.0.0.428
    Posts
    4,387
    Liked
    5 times

    alltel to vzw phone help

    Hey all..so i know nothing about how to do this with a dumb phone but is it possible to change an alltel phone over to a vzw phone...it is the ve20 razr. Any help would be greatly appricated i have been on howards forum all day looking for this and so far not much




  2. #2
    Stiefler is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard Follow Stiefler On Twitter
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Device
    Moto Droid/HTC Eris
    OS
    2.0.1/2.1
    Posts
    3,385
    Liked
    3 times
    Wirelessly posted

    I don't believe that its possible to take a regular phone from carrier to another

  3. #3
    Laney's Avatar
    Laney is offline BlackBerryOS Master
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    2,386
    Liked
    2 times
    yea, i dont think you can.

    i work for a phone company and we resell verizon wireless and we only allow verizon phones to be used as other carrier's phones arent compatible with the V network

  4. #4
    jnepsa's Avatar
    jnepsa is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    ohio
    PIN
    ch me then
    Device
    9550 Storm 2
    OS
    5.0.0.428
    Posts
    4,387
    Liked
    5 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Stiefler07 View Post
    Wirelessly posted

    I don't believe that its possible to take a regular phone from carrier to another
    lol well i know that it is not being a smart ass either, it just has to be hand programmed which (since i work at vzw) i know how to do, and know most of the codes, but our tech guys wont help me since i should just buy a new phone but well, its the mother in law and she loves this damn phone i just need to cross reference what i have been able to find in the system against people who have done it...on howard they have done it with a ton of v3m's just want to make sure the coding is the same..which i would think it is...oh well sry guys
    Last edited by jnepsa; 05-18-2009 at 02:34 PM.

  5. #5
    Shane's Avatar
    Shane is offline BlackBerryOS Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pa
    PIN
    yes
    OS
    5.0.xxx/.40
    Posts
    1,626
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Laney View Post
    yea, i dont think you can.

    i work for a phone company and we resell verizon wireless and we only allow verizon phones to be used as other carrier's phones arent compatible with the V network
    Yes, but isn't it possible, if you were able to convert the necessary parts of the phone to make it pull from VZW towers, couldn't you use the online ESN swap to activate it. Or would Big Red kick the Alltel ESN back?

  6. #6
    jnepsa's Avatar
    jnepsa is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    ohio
    PIN
    ch me then
    Device
    9550 Storm 2
    OS
    5.0.0.428
    Posts
    4,387
    Liked
    5 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Shanepark2 View Post
    Yes, but isn't it possible, if you were able to convert the necessary parts of the phone to make it pull from VZW towers, couldn't you use the online ESN swap to activate it. Or would Big Red kick the Alltel ESN back?
    or if you can make the right changes to the network and you work for big red....muwhaaahhaaaa they wont kick it out i just have to change it first...kinda like dont ask dont tell lmao

  7. #7
    Shane's Avatar
    Shane is offline BlackBerryOS Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pa
    PIN
    yes
    OS
    5.0.xxx/.40
    Posts
    1,626
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jnepsa View Post
    or if you can make the right changes to the network and you work for big red....muwhaaahhaaaa they wont kick it out i just have to change it first...kinda like dont ask dont tell lmao
    But getting the phone to the point were it will accept VZW service is a very difficult task. Seeing the trouble you have had with modding the storm, I would strongly recommend you do not attempt it. A Motorola Phone is a completely different creature than a Storm. You just can't reload another OS is you brick a Moto phone. You brick one of those it's bricked for good, most of the time.

  8. #8
    jnepsa's Avatar
    jnepsa is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    ohio
    PIN
    ch me then
    Device
    9550 Storm 2
    OS
    5.0.0.428
    Posts
    4,387
    Liked
    5 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Shanepark2 View Post
    But getting the phone to the point were it will accept VZW service is a very difficult task. Seeing the trouble you have had with modding the storm, I would strongly recommend you do not attempt it. A Motorola Phone is a completely different creature than a Storm. You just can't reload another OS is you brick a Moto phone. You brick one of those it's bricked for good, most of the time.
    lol thanks shane...trouble i had loading the storm? i didnt have that much....hardly any...lol jerk ..the bonus is if i brick it we have another and the double bonus is if not i am bringing them in new to vzw so it will be free phone but seriously what trouble with storm?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •