Why if the blackberry storm has bad reviews, everybody is buying it?
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Why if the blackberry storm has bad reviews, everybody is buying it?

  1. #1
    williom is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie Follow williom On Twitter
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    PIN
    10002
    Device
    mobile
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times

    Why if the blackberry storm has bad reviews, everybody is buying it?

    I read bad reviews in the internet but still people are buying the blackberry storm, why.




  2. #2
    joshjamie's Avatar
    joshjamie is offline BlackBerryOS Addict Follow joshjamie On Twitter
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Kitchener
    PIN
    Bell
    Device
    Z10
    OS
    10.0.10.85
    Posts
    545
    Liked
    15 times
    I don't know. I don't think I reaLly had a problem with mine. Unless your reading press releases from Steve Jobs
    Posted via mobile device

  3. #3
    munchkinsdad's Avatar
    munchkinsdad is offline BlackBerryOS Inspired Follow munchkinsdad On Twitter
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    East Coast
    PIN
    315958E4
    Device
    9550
    OS
    5
    Posts
    104
    Liked
    1 times
    its actually a really good phone. Its like a new tractor to a farmer...not a Ferrari to a spoiled rich kid. It does its job,, no frills.

  4. #4
    amcatania is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastern PA
    PIN
    322A8F2C
    Device
    Storm1
    OS
    5.0.0.973
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    1 times
    If people don't have something to ***** about, they get bored. I still use a Storm 1 and with the updated OS's loaded on it, the phone works nicely. It's definitely a far cry from when it was originally released.
    Posted via mobile device

  5. #5
    joshjamie's Avatar
    joshjamie is offline BlackBerryOS Addict Follow joshjamie On Twitter
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Kitchener
    PIN
    Bell
    Device
    Z10
    OS
    10.0.10.85
    Posts
    545
    Liked
    15 times
    I agree with amcatania, Ive had the S1 since day one and still use it today. When it first came out, there were bugs in it....alot of bugs. But like everything, RIM has improved the OS from the 4.7 series and the hybrid makers have only improved them to the point where the S1 has become a phenomenal smartphone today...to the point that I will continue using my S1 until the S3 does come out with QNX as the OS. Please keep in mind, when the QNX is finally loaded onto a smartphone, there will be bugs and issues with it as well. It's called growing pains.

    We can all take a look at all the smartphone out there, and we will surely find issues with all of them. Much like we ***** about the :AR15firing:iphone, :AR15firing:iphone sites ***** about the blackberry.

    With all that said, my son HAD an :AR15firing:iphone until he got fed up with his 3rd replacement because of a small issue with the battery potentially catching fire, and went to a BB. He has stated several times that he has no idea why he wasted his time and just didn't go with a BB immediately. And yes, he also uses the Storm.

    People who do ***** about the Storm have to keep this in mind, it won't do your laundry, it will not cook for you, and it will not make your life a rosey picture of success. After all, at the end of the day it's only a smartphone. It just happens to be the best damn smartphone on the market....oh the price of success

  6. #6
    bulldogcatcher is offline BlackBerryOS Friend
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Duluth, MN
    Device
    storm 2 9550
    OS
    5.0.0.895
    Posts
    10
    Liked
    1 times
    Had a 1 and use a 2 and have had good luck with both! The available themes out there make them more functional and fun. A solid business product let's me keep my laptop in the office when I'm on the road.

  7. #7
    johnm93359 is offline BlackBerryOS Friend
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Device
    storm
    Posts
    14
    Liked
    0 times
    I enjoy my S1. My major issue is with lack of memory and memory leaks. Internet is bad also and lack of wifi. Other than that The S1 is not a bad machine now.

  8. #8
    munchkinsdad's Avatar
    munchkinsdad is offline BlackBerryOS Inspired Follow munchkinsdad On Twitter
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    East Coast
    PIN
    315958E4
    Device
    9550
    OS
    5
    Posts
    104
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by joshjamie View Post
    ... It just happens to be the best damn smartphone on the market....
    ^
    sweet!

  9. #9
    Bugly's Avatar
    Bugly is offline BlackBerryOS Gifted Follow Bugly On Twitter
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Hilltop, TACO-ma, Wash.
    PIN
    307959E6
    Device
    Antique 9530
    OS
    Whatever works today
    Posts
    353
    Liked
    0 times
    I also am on my original S1, my g'f is on her second one, due to a camera glitch, but both have always worked, they get pretty good reception where other carriers do not, and even gets reception where other Verizon phones have had weak signal. It is still a valid option for a BB device, but has been pretty much thrown away by those in charge of making new operating systems.
    Have you ever wondered why things intended to make our lives simpler keep getting more complicated to use?

  10. #10
    joshjamie's Avatar
    joshjamie is offline BlackBerryOS Addict Follow joshjamie On Twitter
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Kitchener
    PIN
    Bell
    Device
    Z10
    OS
    10.0.10.85
    Posts
    545
    Liked
    15 times
    Now that you mention it Bugly, your right. All S1 users have suffered the cold shoulder from RIM for quite sometime now. And if you look at the sudden drop of official releases for the S2, they're experiencing the same thing. Come to think of it, S1 users lost the love shortly before and after the S2 was released. So from that can we infer the S3 is on it's way?

  11. #11
    careers is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Device
    Pearl Flip 8220
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times
    Storms are great phones in general, but one weakness for S1 may be its screen. For this S2 is a drastic improvement from S1.

  12. #12
    Joe Jerde's Avatar
    Joe Jerde is offline Owner | President Follow Joe Jerde On Twitter Add Joe Jerde on Facebook Add Joe Jerde on Google+ Add Joe Jerde on Linkedin Visit Joe Jerde's Youtube Channel
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Device
    BlackBerry Z10
    OS
    10.0.9.2743
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Posts
    7,836
    Liked
    1503 times
    Quote Originally Posted by williom View Post
    I read bad reviews in the internet but still people are buying the blackberry storm, why.
    They aren't buying the device anymore. Verizon gives it away for free with a service contract, and I believe it's the same for all other cell distributers that are offering the Storm 2. So I guess people are still getting it because it is free with a plan.

    I honestly love the texting on sure-press. The Storm 2 felt the best of any phone I've owned with texting, and I have owned the iPhone and Droids.

    Click the button in the bottom right of a post to say thanks!
    Downloads Center | Rules and Guidelines l BlackBerry 10 Zone

  13. #13
    alanjolin is offline BlackBerryOS Inspired
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Norfolk UK
    PIN
    236b7e39
    Device
    Bold 9780
    OS
    6. 534. beta
    Carrier
    vodafone UK
    Posts
    101
    Liked
    41 times
    I think anyone could find bugs and faults with any Device, if you look hard enough. I had a storm 1 two BB's ago, and it was a good device. It did develop a issue that basically 'nuked' it. Fair play to Vodafone UK they replaced it no BS. The only thing I didn't like was the touchscreen, but then I'm a keyboard person when it comes to BB's

  14. #14
    Joe Jerde's Avatar
    Joe Jerde is offline Owner | President Follow Joe Jerde On Twitter Add Joe Jerde on Facebook Add Joe Jerde on Google+ Add Joe Jerde on Linkedin Visit Joe Jerde's Youtube Channel
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Device
    BlackBerry Z10
    OS
    10.0.9.2743
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Posts
    7,836
    Liked
    1503 times
    Quote Originally Posted by alanjolin View Post
    I think anyone could find bugs and faults with any Device, if you look hard enough. I had a storm 1 two BB's ago, and it was a good device. It did develop a issue that basically 'nuked' it. Fair play to Vodafone UK they replaced it no BS. The only thing I didn't like was the touchscreen, but then I'm a keyboard person when it comes to BB's
    Yea, for me there was something about that surepress of committing to the action that makes texting easy on the Storm. I have a harder time texting on iPhone and Droid devices.

    And definitely the Storm 2 was a great improvement from the Storm 1.

    Click the button in the bottom right of a post to say thanks!
    Downloads Center | Rules and Guidelines l BlackBerry 10 Zone

  15. #15
    amyswan is offline BlackBerryOS Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    72
    Liked
    35 times
    Please see the following post with the similar answers you are looking for

    http://www.blackberryos.com/forums/b...dy-buying.html

    Hope this helps you

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •