I've found that once you "get images" and do not delete the messages in question, if more messages with the same graphics come through they will automatically display w/o having to "get images", but if the original emails are gone then you will have to "get images" each time. Although it does protect users w/o unlim data plan and does save battery, I think we should at lest be given the choice to have them auto display w/o having to maanually retrieve them each time. I wonder if the 5.0 OS changes that...