BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0 Review
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0 Review

  1. #1
    ice2921's Avatar
    ice2921 is offline BlackBerryOS Grand Master Follow ice2921 On Twitter
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    USA
    Device
    Z10
    OS
    10.0.10.684
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Posts
    2,544
    Liked
    749 times

    BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0 Review




    By now you have probably heard about RIM's release of the highly anticipated BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0. For months now, all anyone in the BlackBerry community could do was talk about PlayBook OS 2.0. Rumors and guesses of when it would be released had everyone on their toes, and had others running out of patience. They say good things come to those who wait. Was this the case with PlayBook OS 2.0? Did RIM deliver on what so many have been waiting for? After spending some time with the PlayBook OS 2.0 this is my review.

    A Seamless Update

    Anytime a major update like this comes along a bit of update anxiety also comes with it. Questions like will my data still be there after I upgrade? Will I brick my device by doing this? However this, process was clean and simple. I was greeted by a simple notification that informed me that OS 2.0.0.7971 was now available for download. After clicking on "Download Now" the upgrade process was quick and painless. Although the upgrade process was among the best I have ever experienced, one should not disregard a proper backup before upgrading. A quick back up can save you from wasting a lot of time and effort.

    A Refreshing New UI


    The two most noticeable things you will notice right away are how you interact with the Playbook and the way it looks. Although, most of the gestures are the same, there are somethings that are completely revamped.

    The categories, All, Favorites, Media, and Games, have been replaced with an interactive dock. The dock can be used much like the "Favorites" section was used on OS 1.0. Icons and folders can be placed on the dock by simply dragging the pulsing icon to the desired location on the dock. This is very convenient for those quick launch applications that you frequently use. In addition, icons a can be moved to an existing or new panel by simply moving it to the far right of the screen. When you move it a new panel is automatically created, and the OS is smart enough to remove the panels that have nothing on them.

    Folder creation is another big change with this release, now I can easily organize my applications into folder groups. If you have a lot of apps you will really like this feature. So say good bye to that cluttered home screen. Folder creation couldn't be any easier; in fact it may be a little too easy as I found myself unintentionally creating them at times. To create a new folder simply drag a pulsing icon on top of another icon. You will then be prompted to name your new folder. After that tap create and you are done.

    BlackBerry Bridge



    The BlackBerry Bridge experience was a little tricky at first, because I was not used to having native email and calendar built in. However it did not take long for me to feel right at home while using BlackBerry Bridge. The bridge icon is actually a folder that houses all of the Bridge applications. I like this for organisational purposes and to keep me from being confused between my bridged calendar application and the native calendar.

    One of the nice things that RIM did within the Bridge Application was to make your BlackBerry device much more interactive with the PlayBook. You can now control your PlayBook from your BlackBerry device. To do this all you have to is enable the option to "Use Remote Control" from within the BlackBerry Bridge App on your BlackBerry device. Clicking on remote control will bring you to a mini-like PlayBook screen where you can control your PlayBook. Clicking on the menu screen will give you additional options to control the PlayBook. This proves to be an invaluable tool for presentations, and picture viewing on large TV's or projection screens.

    Native Email Contacts and Calendar


    This was a feature that everyone was waiting for, including myself. Now with ease, email accounts and social sites can be easily setup and integrated within the native messaging application. Facebook, Twitter, and Linkedin, all can be setup and delivered right to my messaging inbox. In addition, you can reply to those messages directly from the inbox.

    It has been a long time coming, but spell checker is finally here for writing those lengthy emails. The calendar may be the most revamped native application that the PlayBook has to offer. It's actually a smart calendar in that it tells you when you are busy. You will notice that some of your calendar day numbers are larger than other. The larger the number the more packed your schedule is that day. Facebook, Twitter and Linked in are all integrated into the calendar as well so all of those important dates within those sites can seamlessly integrate to your calendar on the PlayBook.

    The Bonus Features

    One of the nice things that RIM has done with this release besides providing the functionality that end users wanted; was to add additional features that would make the PlayBook even better than before. Features like
    Open on PlayBook give you the ability to invoke a Bridge Application from your BlackBerry device. This allows you to open up something like a Word or PDF document on your PlayBook instead of your BlackBerry; taking advantage of the PlayBook's larger screen. Keyboard, and Video Chat enhancements as well as support for Android applications and the addition of Print to Go all make for some nice icing on this cake.

    RIM delivers

    The question now isn't whether or not RIM delivered, but rather how long can they keep up creating superior quality devices with superior OSes? The fact that OS 2.0 more than delivered is proof that RIM is making strides in the right direction to connect with consumers and deliver high quality products. The end results in this review was a fresh new OS that had me feeling like I had just purchased a new tablet. There is a new vibe around the BlackBerry community and im liking it.




  2. #2
    ghostryder's Avatar
    ghostryder is offline BlackBerryOS Addict Follow ghostryder On Twitter
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Northern California
    Device
    Torch 9800
    OS
    6.0.0.706
    Carrier
    AT&T Death Star
    Posts
    980
    Liked
    225 times
    Ice, outstanding review. Thanks.
    ice2921 likes this.

  3. #3
    Tloc is offline BlackBerryOS Friend
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    VAN. ,BC
    PIN
    love you
    Device
    Torch 9810
    OS
    7.1.0.258
    Carrier
    Rogers
    Posts
    33
    Liked
    10 times
    I love the new play book OS release ..... a few things that need a little bit of tweaking i guess .. unless i a wrong about them .. when i use my 9810 as a remote, on the home screen i am not able to just swipe the icons which are not showing on the screen from bottom to up that just closes the window, though the side to side swipe works fine .... anyone else having tis problem?????
    Joe Jerde likes this.

  4. #4
    grimreaper's Avatar
    grimreaper is offline BlackBerryOS Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    T-Dot, ON
    PIN
    ask me
    Device
    9900+9380+Alpha
    OS
    7.1.0.714 [Leak]
    Carrier
    Koodo
    Posts
    1,635
    Liked
    493 times
    After I installed the BlackBerry PlayBook's new OS2.0, I can honestly say I felt like I just bought a new PlayBook.
    Was this the same tablet I bought back a couple of weeks ago?

    It was very smooth, everything worked great, I loved the new features (remote connection) was awesome to type using my BlackBerry device via Blaq for PlayBook (Twitter) app, or to type up an email (corrected with Spell Checker) to my family or friends.

    I didn't need to use my fingers to type anymore on the PlayBook.

    The folder creation was a blessing for me, and for a lot of other people I am sure as most of us probably have a few apps, and games they would like to organize.

    Also, creating my Gmail, Hotmail, or other accounts (IMAP/POP) was too simple, and fast to configure.

    There is one thing for sure RIM has tweaked, videos in HD (and Video Chat), I thought before they were good, holy cow....it's phenomenal now.

    Overall, I am completely optimistic that that is a great beginning for RIM, and this proves that with some patience, the reward is finally out for you and I to enjoy

    Thank you RIM.

    Sincerely,

    a very happy loyal customer
    Joe Jerde and ice2921 like this.

  5. #5
    grimreaper's Avatar
    grimreaper is offline BlackBerryOS Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    T-Dot, ON
    PIN
    ask me
    Device
    9900+9380+Alpha
    OS
    7.1.0.714 [Leak]
    Carrier
    Koodo
    Posts
    1,635
    Liked
    493 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Tloc View Post
    I love the new play book OS release ..... a few things that need a little bit of tweaking i guess .. unless i a wrong about them .. when i use my 9810 as a remote, on the home screen i am not able to just swipe the icons which are not showing on the screen from bottom to up that just closes the window, though the side to side swipe works fine .... anyone else having tis problem?????

    Hello Tloc, personally, I am not experiencing this issue you speak of, or maybe I am not understanding you entirely.

  6. #6
    Tloc is offline BlackBerryOS Friend
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    VAN. ,BC
    PIN
    love you
    Device
    Torch 9810
    OS
    7.1.0.258
    Carrier
    Rogers
    Posts
    33
    Liked
    10 times
    Well I guess then I am doing something wrong .... Here let me explain it in a bit more depth ... When I am using the 9810 as a remote for my PB then on the home screen you see a few icons and then the rest have to be pulled up ... It is this that is not happening when I am trying to pull them up but when I am swiping from the side it does go to the second screen and back very smoothly ... Hope this clears the thing and further more what I recently was trying to open the native message app on the PB it gives me an "error that unable to contact server .. This is h"appening with yahoo server only and when I click on the save option on the accounts setting it runs fine ... This has happened 5 times since morning today ... Kind of baffles me .. Any input Mr Grimreaper

  7. #7
    ice2921's Avatar
    ice2921 is offline BlackBerryOS Grand Master Follow ice2921 On Twitter
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    USA
    Device
    Z10
    OS
    10.0.10.684
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Posts
    2,544
    Liked
    749 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Tloc View Post
    Well I guess then I am doing something wrong .... Here let me explain it in a bit more depth ... When I am using the 9810 as a remote for my PB then on the home screen you see a few icons and then the rest have to be pulled up ... It is this that is not happening when I am trying to pull them up but when I am swiping from the side it does go to the second screen and back very smoothly ... Hope this clears the thing and further more what I recently was trying to open the native message app on the PB it gives me an "error that unable to contact server .. This is h"appening with yahoo server only and when I click on the save option on the accounts setting it runs fine ... This has happened 5 times since morning today ... Kind of baffles me .. Any input Mr Grimreaper
    Is this happening while using bridge or while using the native email client?

  8. #8
    touchnandu is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Device
    playbook
    OS
    2.0
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times
    It was breeze updating to Os 2. Infact. But i arranged all my apps into folders and am shocked to see my Games folder missing on the playbook. Am still trying to figure out. The apps are shown in app store My world as Installed but not to be found anywhere. Any help

  9. #9
    Joe Jerde's Avatar
    Joe Jerde is offline Owner | Editor-In-Chief Follow Joe Jerde On Twitter Add Joe Jerde on Facebook Add Joe Jerde on Google+ Add Joe Jerde on Linkedin Visit Joe Jerde's Youtube Channel
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Device
    BlackBerry Z10
    OS
    10.0.9.2743
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Posts
    7,781
    Liked
    1491 times
    Quote Originally Posted by touchnandu View Post
    It was breeze updating to Os 2. Infact. But i arranged all my apps into folders and am shocked to see my Games folder missing on the playbook. Am still trying to figure out. The apps are shown in app store My world as Installed but not to be found anywhere. Any help
    Have you tried rebooting your tablet since the upgrade to see if that helps?

    Click the button in the bottom right of a post to say thanks!
    Downloads Center | Rules and Guidelines l BlackBerry 10 Zone

  10. #10
    adespat is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times

    download os

    I humly wish to apply for BB os download thanks.

  11. #11
    ignites's Avatar
    ignites is offline BlackBerryOS Inspired Follow ignites On Twitter
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Device
    9900, PB
    OS
    7.1.0.746 & 2.1.0
    Carrier
    Rogers
    Posts
    248
    Liked
    43 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Olivarezen View Post
    Is der any customization feature included with folder option while arranging the apps into a particular one???
    Hi Olivarezen,

    What customization features are you looking for specifically? You can customize the name of the folder. The folder icon will show a preview of the first four apps in the folder (the first four apps are the four apps appearing on row 1 when counting from the left). There are no other customization available for folders that I know of. Let us know what you are looking for and we will try to help!

  12. #12
    danieltremblay1958 is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    PIN
    500F892A
    Device
    playbook
    OS
    2.1
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times
    Is there any way to place your Icons and/or your Folders like you want on the Playbook? I can do it on my Galaxy S3 phone and would love the same way on thhe Playbook.

    thank you
    Daniel

  13. #13
    Alexutz is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Device
    PlayBook
    OS
    2.1.0
    Posts
    8
    Liked
    6 times
    You can rearrange them as you want by long pressing one icon until they all start blinking. The move the icon you want vertically or horizontally to the position you want. If you drop the icon on top of another one it will try to create a "Folder" holding these apps.

  14. #14
    VickieCurtin is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    New york
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    1 times
    that means the RIM is in clear mood to more simplify the access and use out of its various BlackBerry phone models through its latest evolved OS version....

  15. #15
    OriginalLucy's Avatar
    OriginalLucy is offline BlackBerryOS Inspired Follow OriginalLucy On Twitter
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Coastal BC, Canada
    Device
    ZED10,PB64g
    Carrier
    Fido
    Posts
    137
    Liked
    49 times
    Hi Ice, just reread this thread and want to say this was a very good review. I cannot believe that I forgot what the PlayBook was like before OS 2.0. I still use it every day as my go to device. Between the Z10 and the PlayBook, I rarely turn to the laptop. Well done.

Similar Threads

  1. BlackBerry PlayBook Review
    By Joe Jerde in forum BlackBerry PlayBook
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-03-2012, 04:03 PM
  2. BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0 Developer Beta Review
    By ice2921 in forum App Developers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-19-2011, 03:46 PM
  3. Facebook 1.6 Review for the Blackberry
    By Morganizer in forum BlackBerry Apps
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-07-2009, 02:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •