Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 9 to 15 of 15

  1. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Caribbean
    Device
    Storm 2 9550
    OS
    5.0.0.743 Hybrid
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Jerde View Post
    I'll be sure to post any news or rumors of the Android player update as soon as I hear anything. It has to be coming within a month or two.
    Thanks, Joe - I'll stay tuned to this channel!!



  2. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Birmingham UK
    Carrier
    Orange UK
    Posts
    16
    This is a fantastic review and well worth the read thanks Joe Jerde for this.

    I have to be honest, the power button will not bother me in any way, I mean once you turn on the playbook how soon will you be wanting to turn it off? I think most of the people that own the playbook will be using it for hours on end, and then will charge it again whilst still using it so it lasts longer throughout the day.

    I've held BB Playbook in Best Buy here in the UK and I absolutely love the material used to hold the BB Playbook, it's really rugged and gives out a sort of weird feeling that if you were to accidently drop it, that it will still work after you picked it up (now don't test this post by dropping yours as I am only expressing my opinion and will not be paying for any damages caused).

    I am hoping someone can clear up whether the BB Bridge Software will allow you to make use of web browsing through your BB phone over 3G. As many are aware Ipad(2) has a wifi/3g model so users can make use of web browsing over 3G, if the BB Playbook does this then wow BB created a fantastic competitor for Apple.

    I wrote a post yesterday regarding web browsing on the BB Playbook and a Ipad after I had done some research, please have a read when you get a chance. (I am unable to insert a link until I have wrote 10 posts but I'm pretty sure you will find it through my profile).

    The screen on the BB Playbook is really sharp and powering out videos in 1080p how sharp can you go?

    Also when navigating through different screens there is a really smooth transition, this show the power capabilities of the BB Playbook, I am amazed that this little device is packed with 1Gz Dual Core Processor and 1Gz of RAM, this really is a computer in your pocket.

    The camera's on the BB Playbook is remarkable, front camera being 3MP and the rear being 5MP you can still capture some great pics. I own a Minolta Dimage Z1 which is only 3.2MP and I have taken some amazing photos on it, so the BB Playbook should take some really cool pictures on its 5MP Camera. I really want to test skype on the BB Playbook, I have a cousin in Sacramento and Me and my family catch up with him on skype, but just imagine doing it on the BB Playbook, how cool would that be!

    Oh I would so love to get my hands on one but the BB Playbook 16GB is currently £399 in the UK from Best Buy, thats about $638 USD. I have around £130 ( about $208 USD) saved up so far, so looks like I got a long way to go and you know what will happen!!! by the time I have saved enough money up for one of these BB Playbooks, BB might release a better version, haha oh well.
    Last edited by Daldroid; 07-01-2011 at 09:27 AM.

  3. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Birmingham UK
    Carrier
    Orange UK
    Posts
    16
    I not a owner of a BB Playbook yet but here are some opinions taken from various sites, seems the BB Playbook hit some good notes with many users:

    • It is possible to understand a piece of technology only when you own it or at least spend some time understanding it. This is more so, when you make a shift in technology and work on something such as a tablet which is entirely different when compared to what you would have used all along. Now it is time to take a closer look at the Playbook and its operating system which is going to be the future of all tablet devices as well as its smartphones.
    • The 7” form factor of Playbook is extremely comfortable. Though this is not something you can carry in your pocket, you can easily just carry either in your backpack or drop into your bag. The inspiration for this design, according to the designer of Playbook (at Blackberry World) is from the black A5 Moleskine notebook. So, in reality the nature of the Playbook would be close to the A5 electronic notebook.
    • Most of the RIM’s decisions now seem to make sense. The Blackberry player will have the native email in its summer update. But you have the full HTML browser here which gives access to the mail server’s Web UI. Most of the Playbook’s gaps are filled with these web apps.
    • You can also use the Blackberry Bridge or use the webmail where you may use the Outlook Web App with the Exchange server.
    • The browser is not one of the best features in the Playbook as it allows the little tablet punch which is well over its weight. So, if you need office, you will have to just point your Playbook at the Windows Live Skydrive. This will enable you to use these web-based tools. You can use Playbook to work on Excel, PowerPoint, and OneNote that is shared the desktop PC.
    • The keyboard is much better when compared to many of the touch keyboards. The 7-inch screen makes it much easier to thumb-type using the landscape mode when compared to the 10-inch screen. The camera can be used for longer periods due to the light weight of this tablet.
    Last edited by Daldroid; 06-30-2011 at 08:02 PM.



  4. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Device
    BlackBerry Z10
    OS
    10.0.9.2743
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Posts
    7,929
    Quote Originally Posted by Daldroid View Post
    I am hoping someone can clear up whether the BB Bridge Software will allow you to make use of web browsing through your BB phone over 3G. As many are aware Ipad(2) has a wifi/3g model so users can make use of web browsing over 3G, if the BB Playbook does this then wow BB created a fantastic competitor for Apple.
    Yes, there is a Bridge Browser on the PlayBook.

  5. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Device
    BlackBerry Z10
    OS
    10.0.9.2743
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Posts
    7,929
    Quote Originally Posted by Daldroid View Post
    The keyboard is much better when compared to many of the touch keyboards. The 7-inch screen makes it much easier to thumb-type using the landscape mode when compared to the 10-inch screen.
    This is something that I love being able to do.



  6. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Birmingham UK
    Carrier
    Orange UK
    Posts
    16
    Hi Joe, oooh I forgot to mention that I had taken extracts from various sites, I have edited my post to suggest this, Sorry Pal.

  7. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Baltimore,MD
    PIN
    N/A
    Device
    iPhone5S/9900
    OS
    7.1.0.267
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Posts
    225
    Joe after reading this... I got to get a PlayBook! Awesome review.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Blackberry 9630 first review
    By ealvnv in forum BlackBerry Tour 9630
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-08-2011, 02:24 AM
  2. App Review: Tawkon for BlackBerry!
    By Hodges in forum BlackBerry Apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-22-2010, 05:06 AM
  3. Facebook 1.6 Review for the Blackberry
    By Morganizer in forum BlackBerry Apps
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-07-2009, 02:16 AM
  4. Blackberry Week In Review
    By Neolantis in forum Weekly Recap
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-23-2009, 03:39 AM
  5. HOT : Blackberry 9630 first review
    By Shane in forum BlackBerry News and Rumors
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-20-2009, 11:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •