Review of T-Mobile Blackberry 8520
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Review of T-Mobile Blackberry 8520

  1. #1
    Laney's Avatar
    Laney is offline BlackBerryOS Master
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    2,386
    Liked
    2 times

    Review of T-Mobile Blackberry 8520

    Earlier today we posted that WalMart was releasing the T-Mobile 8520 early and were priviledged to an unboxing video by a lucky T-Mobile customer. Well, now it seems that he has now made a video review for all to see.

    Last edited by Laney; 08-03-2009 at 04:10 PM.




  2. #2
    olta777 is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Device
    VZW Droid
    OS
    Custom ROM
    Posts
    4,702
    Liked
    3 times
    Wirelessly posted

    Thanks Laney!!! Curve is nice but may become outdated pretty soon with new technology coming out. Although, on vzw's site, it got the best reviews of all bbs!

  3. #3
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv is offline BlackBerryOS Master Follow ealvnv On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Saturn
    PIN
    which one?
    Device
    9900/PlayBook
    OS
    good question
    Carrier
    All of them
    Posts
    2,405
    Liked
    8 times
    Wirelessly posted (Bold 9000 )

    Thanks laney, is a good device for Tmobile, now I jsut need a 3g one
    BlackBerry by Choice!

  4. #4
    Vogue Themes is offline BlackBerryOS Inspired
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Dirty Jerzz
    PIN
    ...i have one of them :)
    Device
    Tour
    OS
    5.0
    Posts
    223
    Liked
    0 times
    I can't wait to try out this trackpad myself, instead of the ball. I am very curious about it.

  5. #5
    jlevy73's Avatar
    jlevy73 is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Device
    9630/9550/9530/
    Posts
    8,538
    Liked
    6 times
    Quote Originally Posted by ealvnv View Post
    Wirelessly posted (Bold 9000 )

    Thanks laney, is a good device for Tmobile, now I jsut need a 3g one
    Don't hold your breath E, I have seen a TMO 3G phone in action and it was as fast as a ground sloth.

  6. #6
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times

  7. #7
    jcoolw's Avatar
    jcoolw is offline BlackBerryOS Inspired
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque
    PIN
    in my front pocket
    Device
    8900
    OS
    bbc hybrid
    Posts
    101
    Liked
    0 times
    I can not wait for this, I am gonna give up the storm for it. But we will see when I actually get it...
    But I probably will. Sell the storm recoup my cost for the 8520 and wait for the storm 2!

    Does anyone know what os it is running?

  8. #8
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv is offline BlackBerryOS Master Follow ealvnv On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Saturn
    PIN
    which one?
    Device
    9900/PlayBook
    OS
    good question
    Carrier
    All of them
    Posts
    2,405
    Liked
    8 times
    Wirelessly posted (Bold 9000 )

    Quote Originally Posted by jlevy73
    Quote Originally Posted by ealvnv View Post
    Wirelessly posted (Bold 9000 )

    Thanks laney, is a good device for Tmobile, now I jsut need a 3g one
    Don't hold your breath E, I have seen a TMO 3G phone in action and it was as fast as a ground sloth.
    Thanks J for the info, I'll be patiently waiting for it ....
    BlackBerry by Choice!

  9. #9
    306buddyluv's Avatar
    306buddyluv is offline BlackBerryOS Enthusiast Follow 306buddyluv On Twitter
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Miami Florida
    Device
    9700/9530
    OS
    5.0.0.421/5.0.0.419
    Posts
    60
    Liked
    0 times
    Real good review.
    Like i said before, RIM pisses me off with the way they do this. Add such nice features and hardware on the phone but falls short on some things to not make it better than previous models. Nice sounds, optical trackpad, good buttons. con: no flash for camera, screen res sucks, and no built in GPS; what is up with that.. If they keep this up they will never be on top of the smart phone charts again.

    Build a dam phone that has all the pros from the previous models already.
    ..........
    SHAKE N BAKE
    ..........

  10. #10
    jcoolw's Avatar
    jcoolw is offline BlackBerryOS Inspired
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque
    PIN
    in my front pocket
    Device
    8900
    OS
    bbc hybrid
    Posts
    101
    Liked
    0 times
    No flash?? Really??

  11. #11
    Kris's Avatar
    Kris is offline BlackBerryOS Champion Follow Kris On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Atwater, California,
    Posts
    1,507
    Liked
    1 times
    I seen when he was typing a message it said 1 of 6 :-)

    Does this mean rim will allow more then 160 Text :-)

  12. #12
    sunkast Guest
    I tried out the 8520 for a couple minutes tonight. This is a great budget BlackBerry. It's responsive, and the screen looks good. I even wanted to use it like a touch screen. I think that is because of how they have the trackpad and buttons on either side of it incorporated into the screen. They aren't traditional soft keys.

    The trackpad is nice. So long as your thumb isn't sticky. I think I like it better than a trackball. For example, on my 8320, I hate how gritty feeling it is. And on all the newer devices that have the black trackball, I feel it's sunk into the device too much. This is why I like the trackpad better, with the exception that if you have sticky fingers, it doesn't work very well.

    The lack of a flash isn't that big of a deal in my opinion. I've never found those LED flashes work very well. They just make a picture look pale. GPS would have been nice to have as well. The worst feature on the device is the speaker. The audio didn't sound very rich and full.

    Well that about sums up my experience with the device from the few minutes I used it. Overall it's a solid device for anyone looking to get their first BlackBerry, or a inexpensive BlackBerry.

  13. #13
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Thanks Sun for the mini review

  14. #14
    Pakalika's Avatar
    Pakalika is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie Follow Pakalika On Twitter
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Brasil
    PIN
    21297185
    Device
    Curve 8520
    OS
    4.5
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times
    Well, this is my first Blackberry device and i like it pretty much.

    I had some xperiences with the BB Bold and BB Curve 8320 and I can say that the 8520 comes fine if you are looking for a inexpensive BlackBerry.

    I agree with Sunkast. The sound is the worst feature on the device and I think it would be nice to had the GPS. But for a first Blackberry, is a nice option!

    Overall it's a solid device for anyone looking to get a inexpensive BlackBerry and the Trackpad adds a little bit of joy. It goes much better than the trackball!

    I'll soon post a mini detailed review of the 8520!
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  15. #15
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Pakalika View Post
    Well, this is my first Blackberry device and i like it pretty much.

    I had some xperiences with the BB Bold and BB Curve 8320 and I can say that the 8520 comes fine if you are looking for a inexpensive BlackBerry.

    I agree with Sunkast. The sound is the worst feature on the device and I think it would be nice to had the GPS. But for a first Blackberry, is a nice option!

    Overall it's a solid device for anyone looking to get a inexpensive BlackBerry and the Trackpad adds a little bit of joy. It goes much better than the trackball!

    I'll soon post a mini detailed review of the 8520!
    Can't wait to read the review and welcome to BlackberryOS

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •