Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 9 to 15 of 15

  1. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Miami Florida
    Device
    9700/9530
    OS
    5.0.0.421/5.0.0.419
    Posts
    60
    Real good review.
    Like i said before, RIM pisses me off with the way they do this. Add such nice features and hardware on the phone but falls short on some things to not make it better than previous models. Nice sounds, optical trackpad, good buttons. con: no flash for camera, screen res sucks, and no built in GPS; what is up with that.. If they keep this up they will never be on top of the smart phone charts again.

    Build a dam phone that has all the pros from the previous models already.



  2. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque
    PIN
    in my front pocket
    Device
    8900
    OS
    bbc hybrid
    Posts
    101
    No flash?? Really??

  3. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Atwater, California,
    Posts
    1,507
    I seen when he was typing a message it said 1 of 6 :-)

    Does this mean rim will allow more then 160 Text :-)



  4. #12
    sunkast Guest
    I tried out the 8520 for a couple minutes tonight. This is a great budget BlackBerry. It's responsive, and the screen looks good. I even wanted to use it like a touch screen. I think that is because of how they have the trackpad and buttons on either side of it incorporated into the screen. They aren't traditional soft keys.

    The trackpad is nice. So long as your thumb isn't sticky. I think I like it better than a trackball. For example, on my 8320, I hate how gritty feeling it is. And on all the newer devices that have the black trackball, I feel it's sunk into the device too much. This is why I like the trackpad better, with the exception that if you have sticky fingers, it doesn't work very well.

    The lack of a flash isn't that big of a deal in my opinion. I've never found those LED flashes work very well. They just make a picture look pale. GPS would have been nice to have as well. The worst feature on the device is the speaker. The audio didn't sound very rich and full.

    Well that about sums up my experience with the device from the few minutes I used it. Overall it's a solid device for anyone looking to get their first BlackBerry, or a inexpensive BlackBerry.

  5. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Thanks Sun for the mini review



  6. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Brasil
    PIN
    21297185
    Device
    Curve 8520
    OS
    4.5
    Posts
    1
    Well, this is my first Blackberry device and i like it pretty much.

    I had some xperiences with the BB Bold and BB Curve 8320 and I can say that the 8520 comes fine if you are looking for a inexpensive BlackBerry.

    I agree with Sunkast. The sound is the worst feature on the device and I think it would be nice to had the GPS. But for a first Blackberry, is a nice option!

    Overall it's a solid device for anyone looking to get a inexpensive BlackBerry and the Trackpad adds a little bit of joy. It goes much better than the trackball!

    I'll soon post a mini detailed review of the 8520!

  7. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Quote Originally Posted by Pakalika View Post
    Well, this is my first Blackberry device and i like it pretty much.

    I had some xperiences with the BB Bold and BB Curve 8320 and I can say that the 8520 comes fine if you are looking for a inexpensive BlackBerry.

    I agree with Sunkast. The sound is the worst feature on the device and I think it would be nice to had the GPS. But for a first Blackberry, is a nice option!

    Overall it's a solid device for anyone looking to get a inexpensive BlackBerry and the Trackpad adds a little bit of joy. It goes much better than the trackball!

    I'll soon post a mini detailed review of the 8520!
    Can't wait to read the review and welcome to BlackberryOS

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •