IM+ Pro Reviewed
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 44

Thread: IM+ Pro Reviewed

  1. #1
    BBSuperAbuser's Avatar
    BBSuperAbuser is offline BlackBerryOS Gifted Follow BBSuperAbuser On Twitter Add BBSuperAbuser on Facebook Visit BBSuperAbuser's Youtube Channel
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    West Virginia, USA
    PIN
    2AC197
    Device
    Zed10, PlayBook
    OS
    Z10STL100-3/10.1.0.2
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Posts
    260
    Liked
    79 times

    IM+ Pro Reviewed






    When I first heard about IM+, my first thought was “Oh great, another IM client”. Then I loaded it up on my Torch, and within a few hours, I deleted my longtime IM client, and haven’t looked back since. There was a learning curve, but what do you expect with an app that has more features than you're used to? However, the learning curve is a small one, it took just an hour or so to get familiar with all the features that Shape Services managed to fit into IM+.





    My first look at IM+, was an “Aha!” moment, the layout just makes sense. With a rather pleasant interface color pallet, clearly defined sections, and no distracting (or useless) bells and whistles, its easy to see why so many people love IM+.






    Just being able to chat on your favorite IM with your BlackBerry is a very cool thing, but if you use more than one client, getting them all on your phone can eat up a lot of space on your Berry. Not to mention the strain that the cpu will suffer, and the battery, too. IM+ has a fairly low impact on memory, cpu, and battery. My battery DPH (discharge per hour rate, expressed as a percentage) was around 17% before uninstalling all my IM apps, and 14% after installing IM+, and uninstalling my other IM clients.





    Now, my experience with IM+ is not all roses. For some reason, after installing, I noticed half of my GPS enabled apps are no longer able to pull a GPS fix. Foursquare, Google Maps, Trapster, and SocialScope, are not able to pull a GPS fix. Telenav, Facebook, Poynt, and Scanner for BlackBerry, are still working properly. I tested this by uninstalling IM+, after uninstalling, the affected apps worked properly. After reinstalling, the affected apps ceased working. I have not had time to look for a fix before writing this review, so there may be a fix, or my issue might be unique.


    The only other gripe I have with IM+, is that it will not load up, and sign in, when my Berry boots up. Lame! When I have to reboot my phone, I want all my communication apps to start up automagically. I hate plowing through my apps to start them up, if I want it to start up on boot up, it should have an option to allow this. (You paying attention Google? Latitude for Google Maps, helloooooo?)


    All in all, I am happy with IM+. I can put up with the whole “auto sign in” thing, and I WILL find a way to get GPS working properly, so I am not giving up on this otherwise fantastic app.


    With support for most of the popular IM services, Twitter and the new Neighbors service, this is one darned useful IM client. The easy to navigate, and easy on the eyes UI, is very refreshing to use, with a minimum of learning involved.


    Final conclusion:


    IM+ from Shape Services is definitely on my must have list, and at $9.99 US, is worth every penny.


    Check out IM+'s features:


    Chat in AIM®/iChat, MSN®/WLM, Yahoo!®, ICQ®, Jabber®, Google Talk, MySpaceIM, Facebook and even Skype* with no cost per message.

    Subscribe and enjoy unique speech recognition option. Dictate your messages, instantly transcribe them and send to your friends!

    NEW! Neighbors: find new friends nearby. Neighbors offers a new dimension of communication in IM+ by providing users the opportunity to find new real life connections and friends with common interests.

    NEW! VKontakte & Yandex IM services are now supported - cheers to our users from Russia!

    You may access your Blackberry IM history in IM+ Web Messenger at https://plus.im from your desktop computer.

    Invite your friends on MSN, Skype*, AIM, and ICQ to group chat and enjoy group conversations.

    Twitter functionality: View friends' timeline, favorites, direct messages and replies. Post pictures and voice messages to your timeline!

    Stay online in IM Push mode and save the battery life. In IM Push mode IM+ is not running, though you remain online and continue receiving IMs as e-mails pushed to your BlackBerry® Inbox. You can reply to them right away. Send files, photos and voicemails without additional charges. Adios, MMS!

    Integration with BlackBerry® Inbox for OS 4.6 and higher. The last received IMs are placed in BlackBerry® message inbox and you get immediate notification of incoming messages on the BlackBerry® home screen.

    Translate messages into English, Swedish, French, German, Italian, Russia, Spanish, Japanese and Chinese, with integrated online translator.

    Get all further updates for free.

    *This product uses Skype™ but is not endorsed or certified by Skype.

    Last edited by BBSuperAbuser; 07-29-2011 at 11:53 AM.




  2. #2
    TheOnlyJrod's Avatar
    TheOnlyJrod is offline BlackBerryOS Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The Big Apple
    PIN
    Just Ask!
    Device
    Torch 9800
    OS
    6.0.0.600
    Carrier
    The "New" AT&T
    Posts
    843
    Liked
    123 times

    Giveaway: Win one of 5 copies of IM+ Pro Messenger


    IM+ Pro, developed by Shape Services, is a great messaging application. Shape has been so kind to give BlackBerryOS 5 key codes to give to our readers. 5 lucky BlackBerry users will get to place IM+ Pro onto their BlackBerry Devices.

    To enter your name in this giveaway, simple comment below and tell us what account you would connect to your IM+ Pro, if you win.

    Example: "If I win, I will be connecting my AIM, GTalk, Skype and MySpace Chat Accounts."

    Its that simple! The giveaway starts now and will end Monday August 8th @ 11:59pm Eastern Standard Time. Winners will be chosen the next day and codes will be Private Messaged to each winner.

    Good Luck!

  3. #3
    Sachin Jain is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Noida, India
    Device
    9780
    OS
    6.0.0.615
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times
    If I win, I will be connecting my Skype, GTalk, and Yahoo Messenger Chat Accounts.

  4. #4
    yenson's Avatar
    yenson is offline BlackBerryOS Friend Follow yenson On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    venezuela
    PIN
    PON
    Device
    9900
    OS
    7.1
    Posts
    42
    Liked
    2 times

    Win one of 5 copies of IM+ Pro Messenger

    I want to win a copy thanks to this excellent site!!
    If I win, I will be connecting my facebook,skype in order to all applications

  5. #5
    doodie1231 is offline BlackBerryOS Friend
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    39
    Liked
    1 times
    if i win i will connect all my accounts
    fb aim msn yahoo gtalk myspace skype etc.....
    i really want this =]

  6. #6
    killer24680 is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Germany / Erzgebirge
    Device
    9700,9105
    OS
    6.0.0.600
    Carrier
    VF-DE / O²-DE
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times
    PLEASE! I will Win to Connect to ICQ, Facebook, MSN, Skype and Twitter!!!!

    Andreas

  7. #7
    crazy6395's Avatar
    crazy6395 is offline BlackBerryOS Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Tehran - Iran
    PIN
    26BA6112
    Device
    9800 Torch White
    OS
    6.0.0.600
    Posts
    57
    Liked
    5 times
    WoW, count me in too :-D
    If i win i will be connecting Yahoo! and Facebook.
    I hope i win...

  8. #8
    senorraja is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie Follow senorraja On Twitter
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    PIN
    23BA98EF
    Device
    bold 9780
    OS
    6.0.0.344
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    1 times
    Its great program, I have been using IM+ on my nokia S60V3 since 4 years! I dont even know how the native apps look like since IM+ I shall win and continue the connection!

  9. #9
    unknowncaller123 is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    7
    Liked
    0 times
    If I win, I would connect my Twitter, MSN, Facebook, MySpace, and Skype accounts.
    Thanks BBOS for this chance to win!! I've been wanting this since forever!!

  10. #10
    mcgwire3 is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times
    if I win I will be connecting to twitter and facebook

  11. #11
    raf
    raf is offline BlackBerryOS Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    PIN
    hidden
    Device
    9800
    OS
    6.0.0
    Posts
    86
    Liked
    5 times
    If I win, I will be connecting my Skype, and Twitter and BTW
    I'm crazzy about IM+ Pro , so please count me in for it....

    Tnx BBOS for giveaways
    Last edited by raf; 07-31-2011 at 04:33 PM.

  12. #12
    stepinsteve is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    PIN
    23042569
    Device
    Torch 9800
    OS
    6.0
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    0 times
    If I were to win I would connect as follows_MSN,yahoo,Google Talk,Facebook,Twitter,MySpace and AIM so send one my way

  13. #13
    dragonfire1 is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times
    If I win, I will be connecting my MSN, Facebook, Skype, and MySpace Chat Accounts.
    Thanks!

  14. #14
    hotmetalnet2010 is offline BlackBerryOS Friend
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    City of Smiles
    PIN
    24CC0DB6
    Device
    Z10 STL100-2
    OS
    10.0.10.822
    Carrier
    Globe - PH
    Posts
    24
    Liked
    3 times
    If I Win, I will be connecting my Facebook, Skype and Twitter accounts and share the great experience with my friends!!!
    Thanks.

  15. #15
    pccuser is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Taipei, Taiwan, Taiwan
    PIN
    316A597E
    Device
    9550
    OS
    os5
    Posts
    7
    Liked
    1 times
    yes! this app is very excellent and useful.
    i want this app.
    i have a twitter account, man, icq, yahoo, all will connect in one app
    pick me up please.
    Last edited by pccuser; 07-31-2011 at 08:10 PM.

  16. #16
    pReStRo is offline BlackBerryOS Friend Follow pReStRo On Twitter
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    PIN
    29382299
    Device
    Bold 9900
    OS
    7.2
    Carrier
    M1
    Posts
    25
    Liked
    0 times
    I love to have a copy too

  17. #17
    dflazer is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times
    If i win, I will connect my facebook, AIM, MySpace, Twitter, and Skype accounts.
    Hope I win

  18. #18
    saodah is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Device
    Bold9000
    OS
    5.0.0.1079
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times
    give me one copies please..
    I hope I wins *pray
    Thanks BBOS team for this contest

  19. #19
    danp2000 is offline BlackBerryOS Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    PIN
    31CAEBFD
    Device
    8330
    OS
    4.5.0.175
    Posts
    73
    Liked
    11 times
    I'd love to win this app. Looks like it has GREAT features.

  20. #20
    buckwild's Avatar
    buckwild is offline BlackBerryOS Friend
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Virginia
    Device
    Torch (9800)
    OS
    6.0.0.600
    Carrier
    at&t
    Posts
    29
    Liked
    2 times
    If I win I'd connect my facebook & twitter accounts.
    Thanks BBOS

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. BlackBerry PlayBook Get Reviewed In the Wild
    By AstroFreddy in forum BlackBerry PlayBook
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-18-2010, 03:22 PM
  2. e-GPS app reviewed!
    By jnepsa in forum BlackBerry Apps
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 04-15-2010, 07:27 PM
  3. Reviewed: Mobile Checkbook 4.0 by MobaTech
    By jnepsa in forum BlackBerry Apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-23-2009, 06:13 AM
  4. Druglord Wars Reviewed
    By Brett Wyman in forum BlackBerry Apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-24-2009, 02:20 PM
  5. Desktop Manager for Mac- Reviewed
    By bdube in forum Desktop Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-03-2009, 12:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •