QuickLaunch 2.0 Review
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 135

Thread: QuickLaunch 2.0 Review

  1. #1
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times

    QuickLaunch 2.0 Review

    OK everyone I posted this on my blog for my subscribers but I thought I would share it with my BBOS family as well


    OK. As most of you know, one of the must have applications for my Storm is QuickLaunch and recently NikkiSoft released version 2.0. Now, if you have a previous version of QuickLaunch you'll have to purchase this new version for $1.99 upgrade or if your a new purchaser it is $4.99, as it's not a free upgrade. In my opinion, this is one heck of an upgrade; basically a whole new program with tons of new options. So I decided to write a review on this new version in case some of you don't know about it, and also for the ones that own a previous version but are not sure if they want to pay the price to upgrade. In short, think of QuickLaunch as master shortcut maker for your Storm. You can add frequently visited websites, contacts, and apps to the menu for easy access. In the photos below I have QuickLaunch set to my left convenience key, but that's just an option. You can choose to use the launcher that comes with the program. One of the best new features is the added ability to use QuickLaunch to take screen shots of your Blackberry. This is great because if you are like me and have Capture It you can now delete it and have one less application taking up that precious memory. The only downfall of the screen shot option is that it saves the pictures on your device memory instead of your SD card. So, you'll want to make sure and delete those screen shots once you're done with them, so as not to fill up your device memory.

    Here is what the QuickLaunch menu looks like once activated. Notice I have a shortcut for calling home. When selected that shortcut will automatically activate the phone application and dial the number. You can set up your frequently emailed contacts as well as texts. Also notice the folder icon at the top labeled "AV". With this new version you can set up sub menus and move any app from your QuickLaunch menu to that sub menu.



    Here is a picture of the AV sub menu that I created. I then moved the shortcut for camera, video recorder, and sound profiles in here. This helps keep the main menu trimmed down, preventing it from getting too long, as more and more items are added. This is one of the new features that I really like a lot. With the old version I got tired of scrolling up and down the main menu looking for my shortcuts.




    Here is another great new feature that I wish every 3rd party application came with. Backup/Restore allows you to save your menu configuration and activation code for easy restore after an OS upgrade or if you need to wipe your phone for any reason. It saves this as a .txt file on your SD card. So it will not be lost during the wipe of your device memory.




    Here are several shots of the menu options available on the newest QuickLaunch. Now, for those that have a previous version you'll notice quite a few more options on the new one.



    In this next photo you'll notice the "flicker" fix included on this version for the OS's .141 and .148 as well as the ability to display your local weather.





    To be continued in the next post




  2. #2
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Below is another photo of the main menu options and I am selecting add items



    Here is the list of choices that pops up once you select add items. As you can see you can enter any website, as well as your email, text, phone calls, pins, and applications. Using email for example, you have the option of entering the email address and naming that entry or you can pull that information right from your contact list. Now when you click the application button this will give you the option of adding a shortcut from all your standard blackberry applications and your 3rd party applications installed on your phone.



    Here is a shot of the menu list once you have selected application from the menu. This is just half the menu but you get the idea. Just select which application you want on the QuickLauch menu and save and it will be on there.





    Well, that pretty much wraps up my review. I hope I've cleared up some questions that you may have had. If you want to pick up the new version 2 click the link below and enjoy!

    QuickLaunch 2.0

  3. #3
    Stiefler is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard Follow Stiefler On Twitter
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Device
    Moto Droid/HTC Eris
    OS
    2.0.1/2.1
    Posts
    3,385
    Liked
    3 times
    I actually learned bout a feature i really didnt know about, awesome review Bryan! :fing02:

  4. #4
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Stiefler07 View Post
    I actually learned bout a feature i really didnt know about, awesome review Bryan! :fing02:
    Thank you sir

  5. #5
    olta777 is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Device
    VZW Droid
    OS
    Custom ROM
    Posts
    4,702
    Liked
    3 times
    Wirelessly posted

    Thanks Bryan! Awesome job reviewing an awesome app!

  6. #6
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by olta777 View Post
    Wirelessly posted

    Thanks Bryan! Awesome job reviewing an awesome app!
    Thanks Olta and yes I love 2.0 so much better.

  7. #7
    Rellims's Avatar
    Rellims is offline BlackBerryOS Fanatic Follow Rellims On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Denver
    PIN
    EAPPLE...Y
    Device
    9550
    OS
    5.0.whatever is newe
    Posts
    1,102
    Liked
    5 times
    I've never used quick launch but will try it now, nice review.
    See all of my free themes by clicking
    HERE
    Follow me on Twitter @1rellims

  8. #8
    Laney's Avatar
    Laney is offline BlackBerryOS Master
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    2,386
    Liked
    2 times
    nice job Bry, i might have to try it

  9. #9
    Pain Producer's Avatar
    Pain Producer is offline BlackBerryOS Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    PIN
    T OF GUINN
    Device
    9550 Storm 2 Verizon
    OS
    5.0.0.607/643 (OOAK)
    Posts
    940
    Liked
    0 times
    Version 2.1 is out now
    UPDATE:
    Verizon Storm 2, Until 4/29 went to "INCREDIBLE"
    Verizon Tour (Wife's)
    OS: 9550--5.0.0.607/643 (OOAK w/all the fixes)
    OS: 9630--5.0.0.643

  10. #10
    Stiefler is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard Follow Stiefler On Twitter
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Device
    Moto Droid/HTC Eris
    OS
    2.0.1/2.1
    Posts
    3,385
    Liked
    3 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Pain Producer View Post
    Version 2.1 is out now
    Anything added? lol

  11. #11
    Pain Producer's Avatar
    Pain Producer is offline BlackBerryOS Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    PIN
    T OF GUINN
    Device
    9550 Storm 2 Verizon
    OS
    5.0.0.607/643 (OOAK)
    Posts
    940
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Stiefler07 View Post
    Anything added? lol
    The menu is switched around a little when you add a item. "Application" is first now. Also, you have a option to "Move to Submenu" I do not think that was there before. I think it was fixing a bug issue too.

    I love this app. Saves me a ton off time. Also, I am using the weather option on it because it doesn't take any memory up like other apps.
    UPDATE:
    Verizon Storm 2, Until 4/29 went to "INCREDIBLE"
    Verizon Tour (Wife's)
    OS: 9550--5.0.0.607/643 (OOAK w/all the fixes)
    OS: 9630--5.0.0.643

  12. #12
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Rellims View Post
    I've never used quick launch but will try it now, nice review.
    Thanks Rellims Hope you like it

    Quote Originally Posted by Laney View Post
    nice job Bry, i might have to try it
    Thanks Laney and you know you wanna

  13. #13
    Pain Producer's Avatar
    Pain Producer is offline BlackBerryOS Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    PIN
    T OF GUINN
    Device
    9550 Storm 2 Verizon
    OS
    5.0.0.607/643 (OOAK)
    Posts
    940
    Liked
    0 times
    I forgot to thank you Brian for the write up. Excellent job! I used the "AV" sub menu you showed in your review.
    UPDATE:
    Verizon Storm 2, Until 4/29 went to "INCREDIBLE"
    Verizon Tour (Wife's)
    OS: 9550--5.0.0.607/643 (OOAK w/all the fixes)
    OS: 9630--5.0.0.643

  14. #14
    olta777 is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Device
    VZW Droid
    OS
    Custom ROM
    Posts
    4,702
    Liked
    3 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Pain Producer View Post
    The menu is switched around a little when you add a item. "Application" is first now. Also, you have a option to "Move to Submenu" I do not think that was there before. I think it was fixing a bug issue too.

    I love this app. Saves me a ton off time. Also, I am using the weather option on it because it doesn't take any memory up like other apps.
    I think it was more some bug...Because I am running 2.0 and I do have "move to submenu." But thanks, I will update right now!!! It's a must have app!!! I have a couple of those and still can't figure out which ones are more "must haves" than others

  15. #15
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times

    Version 2.0.1 Change Log

    Here is the change log for 2.0.1

    * Fixed "Application" button item not working in "Add Items" window.
    * Moved "Application" button to top of "Add Items" window.
    * Fixed Screen Captures not saving to SD Card.
    * Fixed incorrect menu header when using nested sub-menus.
    * Fixed documents added to main menu instead of current sub-menu.
    * Fixed menu size when weather is occupying multiple lines.


    Notice the pictures now save to SD card I think I love this app even more now.

  16. #16
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Pain Producer View Post
    I forgot to thank you Brian for the write up. Excellent job! I used the "AV" sub menu you showed in your review.
    Thanks Pain glad you got some use out of it

  17. #17
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv is offline BlackBerryOS Master Follow ealvnv On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Saturn
    PIN
    which one?
    Device
    9900/PlayBook
    OS
    good question
    Carrier
    All of them
    Posts
    2,405
    Liked
    8 times
    nice review Bryan
    BlackBerry by Choice!

  18. #18
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by ealvnv View Post
    nice review Bryan
    Thanks E appreciate it

  19. #19
    Natemz's Avatar
    Natemz is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard Follow Natemz On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    PIN
    DROOOOIIII
    Device
    Droid X
    Posts
    3,209
    Liked
    19 times
    Excellent review Bryan. I got QL 2 the night it came out. It has become a very robust little app now. Well worth the $2 upgrade. Still trying to "train" myself to use it. I hardly ever used v1. But I'm determined to use v2. I love that you dont have to click the screen if you don't want to. Very cool app.
    Droooooiiiiiid!
    Follow me @Natemz

  20. #20
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Natemz View Post
    Excellent review Bryan. I got QL 2 the night it came out. It has become a very robust little app now. Well worth the $2 upgrade. Still trying to "train" myself to use it. I hardly ever used v1. But I'm determined to use v2. I love that you dont have to click the screen if you don't want to. Very cool app.
    Thanks Nate I find myself using this new version much more than I did the previous one. Love the sub menus so I can keep my main menu short and manageable.

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •