Dropbox 1.0.37 for BlackBerry review
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Dropbox 1.0.37 for BlackBerry review

  1. #1
    darius99's Avatar
    darius99 is offline BlackBerryOS Friend
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jamaica
    Device
    Blackberry Bold 9700
    OS
    6.0.0.546
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    0 times

    Lightbulb Dropbox 1.0.37 for BlackBerry review




    Dropbox came to me as I perused the BlackBerryOS.com site recently. It was being lauded as a mobile app for BlackBerrys that would enable you to share your files directly from the mobile app itself, AND a free 2GB space if i applied now?? I had to at LEAST take a test drive!



    Beginning of review

    I started out with a free 2GB account with the possibility of gaining at least 8GB more through referring persons, that is, for every friend who joins Dropbox they will give you both 250 MB of bonus space,up to an additional 8GB equaling a total of a possible 10GB. All files to be downloaded or sent must be uploaded via desktop, except for photos, which are the only file type you may actually upload on the mobile app
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture15_54_25.jpg 
Views:	403 
Size:	22.8 KB 
ID:	1846
    .
    The Dropbox website is great and easy to upload content to. You simply click “upload”, a java box appears (there is also an option for a simple uploader) for you to search your computer or external drives for the file and choose it for uploading. Users may also create folders to further distinguish their file types or different projects,etc.


    Uploading speeds were good and consistent with what I was used to from my 2MB broadband data plan which was 45kb/s. The ability to upload multiple files at once is also a plus. Once you have uploaded your files via desktop to your Dropbox account you then generate a fresh link each time you are sending the file and you are then in a native BlackBerry email message with the already-generated download link attached. These email messages are sent from your choice of any one of the email address accounts already loaded on the phone. After you have emailed the file you are returned to the file and folder you highlighted before sending the file. This area could do with the linking of social networks. Yes, granted you could simply generate the link and then open your social networking site and paste it but that can be a bit tedious to do each time if you account for logging in time, etc. A great addition would be to be able to publish the links directly to a facebook or twitter account, this is possibly something to be updated in the future.


    Downloading files to my phone via wifi was the same i was used to getting on a normal basis,lowest speed recorded was 122kb/s and the highest recorded was 193kb/s.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture15_27_55.jpg 
Views:	271 
Size:	22.4 KB 
ID:	1845

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture15_28_17.jpg 
Views:	257 
Size:	24.1 KB 
ID:	1847

    One weak point found was that there was no ability to alter the state of files on the dropbox account from the mobile app. This means there is no moving, copying or deleting of files from the phone.

    Videos
    ====
    Videos streamed from the mobile app had a nice sync,streaming from wifi consistent and good
    streaming. There was also the option of full screen which was a nice feature.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture15_9_3.jpg 
Views:	314 
Size:	16.3 KB 
ID:	1848


    Music player
    =========
    The music player on the Dropbox app is as bare as they come, with just a blank screen with just file name of the file its easy to see that this was only to be used for previews, and as it is not a mobile audio player app I can live with that. So with no enhancements and consistent streaming the app delivers on what it should.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture15_15_24.jpg 
Views:	321 
Size:	12.0 KB 
ID:	1843


    Pictures
    ======
    Viewing pictures in Dropbox was very easy and I experienced no lag in doing this. Normal sized [480x320] wallpapers uploaded to the dropbox looked great as usual on the bold 9000.high resolution pictures such as laptop wallpapers [1024x768] and [1200x900] were scaled to good quality and looked beautiful and crisp bold 9000.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture15_19_52.jpg 
Views:	368 
Size:	24.3 KB 
ID:	1844


    Overall
    ===========

    Dropbox is a nice little mobile app to help you easily share your files with a few nice features but nothing special. It could use some tweaking to be more fully functional and let users edit the files and enable other ways of sharing files but is a good app nonetheless.

    Rating: 6.0/10


    Last edited by Neolantis; 12-23-2010 at 03:38 AM. Reason: changed jpeg attachments to actual pictures,revised rating




  2. #2
    Neolantis's Avatar
    Neolantis is offline BlackBerryOS Grand Master Follow Neolantis On Twitter
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    2,578
    Liked
    189 times
    Nice review
    Click the Like button to thank me.
    Retired Administrator--I never try anything, I just do it.....Wanna try me?--

  3. #3
    Joe Jerde's Avatar
    Joe Jerde is offline Owner | President Follow Joe Jerde On Twitter Add Joe Jerde on Facebook Add Joe Jerde on Google+ Add Joe Jerde on Linkedin Visit Joe Jerde's Youtube Channel
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Device
    BlackBerry Z10
    OS
    10.0.9.2743
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Posts
    7,833
    Liked
    1502 times
    Great job on this. I think Dropbox is basically great for very small and simple files. And until they can offer something great, it won't be something that people will want to use for everything. It does great for many simple tasks though.

    Click the button in the bottom right of a post to say thanks!
    Downloads Center | Rules and Guidelines l BlackBerry 10 Zone

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •