Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 8 of 48

  1. #1
    lstivo22's Avatar
    lstivo22 is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    PIN
    209ed2d
    Device
    Curve 8310
    OS
    4.5
    Posts
    7

    Bolt Browser small review

    I recently downloaded the beta version of Bolt on my 8310, it's not that I don't like the BB browser, I even deleted Opera off my device and have been using the default browser since, but when I caught wind of this new browser I figure heck I will try it. Now it does have some bugs being beta but the browser itself is really beautiful, I can see full versions of any website, watch videos directly from the browser, and am not limited to anything really. The only thing that I have noticed is that a lot of pages have a tendancy to auto refresh, or just stop loading all together which I know is due to it being beta, but can be frustrating none the less. I have not gotten as deep into testing it as I would like to be yet since it is new to me but I do recommend trying it out. One note I have to mention is that I have tried it on the Bold but for some reason I could only scroll the page from side to side, it would not scroll up or down, that may have just been a glitch in the download, but it was rapidly un-installed (it wasn't my device so the owner dropped it and has yet to re-install to see if it works now) but even though the page was not completely navigateable the speeds were amazing on the bold. I am going to dig deeper into this browser in the near future to see if I can say more about it, also I am continuously watching out for Skyfire to be released so I can get my greedy paws on that (and by then I will have the 8900 and not the 8310) Thank You for reading, I know it isn't the best review but I am hoping to come back with more in depth and better ones in the near future.



  2. #2
    Neolantis's Avatar
    Neolantis is offline BlackBerryOS Grand Master Follow Neolantis On Twitter
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    2,578
    Nice review...thanks

  3. #3
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Thanks for sharing



  4. #4
    bbprintz215's Avatar
    bbprintz215 is offline BlackBerryOS Gifted Follow bbprintz215 On Twitter
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    PIN
    32653d3c
    Device
    Bold 9650
    OS
    5.0.0.975
    Posts
    324
    Good stuff. I love Bolt Browser! I have been using it for aslong as I can remember. I tried Opera Mini for about a month and then had to switch back. It was like I was cheating on a girlfriend... but I actually felt bad about this

  5. #5
    watkins's Avatar
    watkins is offline BlackBerryOS Addict Follow watkins On Twitter
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    VA Beach
    PIN
    if you can
    Device
    9530 Storm
    OS
    5.0.0.230 Shrunk!!!!
    Posts
    735
    does it work with my storm? i guess it does reading over the post above:banghead:
    Last edited by watkins; 08-17-2009 at 12:54 AM. Reason: im an idiot



  6. #6
    jlevy73's Avatar
    jlevy73 is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Device
    9630/9550/9530/
    Posts
    8,538
    Quote Originally Posted by watkins View Post
    does it work with my storm?
    Sure does but it's pretty slow. However, it does a great job rendering webpages.

  7. #7
    bbprintz215's Avatar
    bbprintz215 is offline BlackBerryOS Gifted Follow bbprintz215 On Twitter
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    PIN
    32653d3c
    Device
    Bold 9650
    OS
    5.0.0.975
    Posts
    324
    Quote Originally Posted by jlevy73 View Post
    Sure does but it's pretty slow. However, it does a great job rendering webpages.
    you think it is slow on the Storm? I think it loads pages pretty quickly, especially compared to trying to load a full page in the Blackberry Browser... but I know that is because the default browser isn't designed to load full page websites

  8. #8
    jlevy73's Avatar
    jlevy73 is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Device
    9630/9550/9530/
    Posts
    8,538
    Quote Originally Posted by bbprintz215 View Post
    you think it is slow on the Storm? I think it loads pages pretty quickly, especially compared to trying to load a full page in the Blackberry Browser... but I know that is because the default browser isn't designed to load full page websites
    I guess I am so used to Opera but then again Opera compresses the crap out of stuff and hence why it is so fast. IMO Bolt looks much better, Opera works a lot of faster.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •