App Review: TellMe! v1.1.1
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: App Review: TellMe! v1.1.1

  1. #1
    Hodges's Avatar
    Hodges is offline BlackBerryOS Gifted
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    PIN
    312939D8
    Device
    9550
    OS
    5.0.0.607
    Posts
    450
    Liked
    4 times

    App Review: TellMe! v1.1.1


    Once again I bring you another Jeff Hunt application TellMe! Up to a couple of days ago, I have had the pleasure of privately testing TellMe’s most current version 1.1.1. Jeff has informed me that he has updated the BBOS mobihand store with the new version. Tellme offers a user the option to place specific everyday functions rite into your menu! What are these everyday functions Hodges is probably what’s going through your head right now. Well I am going to break it all down for you just keep reading. Before we get into that, let’s talk about the old version compared to the new. In version 1.0.7, some members were saying that it was a little hard on the eye to tell exactly which option you were selecting. Some Storm users stated that when in landscape mode, some of the icons almost look cut off. Lastly, there was a request for an option to view your actual signal strength. So what did Jeff do?


    Well he fixed the issues of course. TellMe v1.1.1 is now locked in portrait mode, and Jeff added a transparent white background to the icon when selected. So what exactly are these icons and what can you do with them. Let’s start off with the Time/Clock icon. Within this icon you have the ability to add the Time to your menu if you haven’t figured that out already. You have 3 options in your time template, 12:00p, 12:00AM, and 12:00:01AM. Next you have to select the location of this in your menu. Do you want it to be on the Top or on the Bottom of your menu? I am sure the question on your mind is how does that benefit me? One example I can give you is when I am using any application whether it’s Facebook, Twitter, GoogleMaps, or even text messaging. Instead of having to hit the end key and go back to my main screen (or using your Application switcher whatever you choose), I just click the menu and the time appears for me with no need to then have to re-open the application. Doesn’t seem like much but it you would be surprised how useful it is.


    Next we have the Date icon. Your Date template gives you 3 options again, 8/3/2010, Aug 3, 2010, or Tue, Aug 3, 2010. Just like the Time/Clock you get to select the location of Top or Bottom. Keep in mind that if you have enabled the Time/Clock to show in your menu, than enabling the Date to the Top location will put this above the Time (if you selected the Time/Clock to show first). Probably common knowledge but I thought I would say it anyway. Once you make your selections you just need to use your ESC key and TellMe automatically adds it to your menu. No saving settings needed.


    The Memory icon gives you the choice of Total/Free, Total, or Free to have viewable in the menu. In my opinion, knowing the Total/Free space on my device is a must. I can’t tell you how many times I have noticed memory leaks because of this feature. It has definitely made me more aware of what apps I am putting on my phone and which ones are causing the leak. I can say that with such ease because I am not really an “app happy” kind of person. Although I am the beta testing kind of guy, go figure.


    At this point you basically get the idea of what I meant by placing specific everyday functions in your menu. So I am going to skip the next three icons (Weather, Phone, and Email) and get right into the Battery icon. Along with the memory, this is a MUST have in your menu. Under the Battery Template you have the options to show Percent, Percent (Voltage), Percent (dph), and Percent (Voltage-dph). For anyone who is unaware of what dph stands for like I was, dph is the amount of discharge per hour that your battery loses. I am notorious for carrying a charger with me everywhere I go. My dph averages anywhere between 14-20%. That’s A LOT, I haven’t quite figured out why my device discharges so quickly other than the fact that my Berry is in my hand 24-7. I can’t wait for the day for someone to invent the never ending battery. Charging a phone 3 times or more a day is just insane. One could say to stop using the phone so much, but forget that I am an addict!!!


    All in all TellMe is another fabulous application from this 18 year old kid. I don’t think one day has passed in the past 2 weeks were I haven’t received a BBM from Jeff saying “I got another idea for an app”. He is truly a genius and has some amazing new apps in the making. At the rate he is going, one day he will be working for RIM or should I say one day RIM will be working for him. Be on the lookout, QuickNotes has a killer update coming soon amongst the other tricks he has up his sleeve. You can pick up TellMe! and any other app from Jeff in our BBOS Store. Right now all of his applications are on special for $.99 cents until August 10th.

    Last edited by Hodges; 08-03-2010 at 04:10 AM.




  2. #2
    awill300's Avatar
    awill300 is offline BlackBerryOS Gifted
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    GA
    Device
    9550
    OS
    Hybrid
    Posts
    354
    Liked
    5 times
    Seems like a cool app, will give it a run and report back later

  3. #3
    breiti is offline BlackBerryOS Addict Follow breiti On Twitter
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany
    PIN
    please ask
    Device
    9500
    OS
    always the latest
    Posts
    782
    Liked
    0 times
    It is a great app, although I think there is an open issue here


  4. #4
    ShimmyShine's Avatar
    ShimmyShine is offline BlackBerryOS Inspired Follow ShimmyShine On Twitter
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Gowen, Michigan
    PIN
    Just ask!
    Device
    9800
    OS
    6.0.0.337
    Posts
    242
    Liked
    1 times
    Wirelessly posted

    Quote Originally Posted by breiti
    It is a great app, although I think there is an open issue here
    If I might ask, what is the open issue?!
    "Shimmy, I love it when you talk nerdy to me!" - Natemz

  5. #5
    blackberrylover is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie Follow blackberrylover On Twitter
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Device
    blackberry storm
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times
    good application

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •