Lets review Bee Jive for the storm.
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Lets review Bee Jive for the storm.

  1. #1
    BB Skullz's Avatar
    BB Skullz is offline BlackBerryOS Friend
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Device
    9530
    OS
    4.7.0.191
    Posts
    15
    Liked
    1 times

    Lets review Bee Jive for the storm.





    Bee Jive for the Blackberry Storm

    Bee Jive is known for their instant messaging applications. I've used Bee Jive on my Curve 8320 before switching over to the Storm. When using it on my Curve I was in love with it. To me it was one of the bests if not THEE best IM application over there. ESPECIALLY when compared to the Blackberry AIM that comes with all Blackberries.

    When the Verizon made the stupid mistake of releasing the Storm Blackberry phones, Bee Jive did not support the Storm. Well, I believe it was a week ago when they finally have released their IM application for the Storm. Only downfall was that it was a beta. I still downloaded it and obtained a free trial license and loaded her up.

    Like I said, I was very happy when I was able to install this application and be able to use it. Well, after three days of using it, I've given it a work out checking everything that I could. I've encountered nothing but problems. Ya, I know, I don't need to hear you all say that of course it will because its a beta, blah blah blah. Save the time from posting that response.

    First thing I noticed was the colored bars when viewing your buddy list. In portrait view the bars show normal, one side of the screen to the other. Well when you rotate to Landscape mode the bars now go from the left side to about 75% over, not continuing to the right side of the screen. Not a real big problem but it was the first thing I noticed.

    Secondly is a bug that real bugs the hell out of me. If you receive an IM from someone the notification bubble will do its job by alerting you as well as the LED light. BUT when you open the chat box to talk with that person, you do not see what they actually said. Its jsut a blank IM screen. This is def one of the major things that needs to be fixed.

    Third was you can not send files or view your chat history. Nothing major, this will obviously be fixed when it becomes official.

    I've noticed that it sucks up a lot of your battery AND makes the battery a lot hotter then normal. Usually my temp is in the low 80's but lately it has been 102 degrees and I think because of this I think this is the reason I also experience freeze times.

    Lastly, is when scrolling throug your buddy list. Its annoying as hell. You scroll down with your finger but when you move your finger to the top again to keep scrolling down, once your finger hits the screen you are actually taken to the top of your buddy list. Again, I'm sure this will fixed. I also did not like how I am going to have to purchase ANOTHER license even though I do have one because I purchased one when I had my Curve. It would be nice if they allowed us to roll our existing license that we no longer use on a previous device to be able to use it on the storm.

    Overall, this application is obviously in the beta and I believe it will remain in beta for quite some time. Once they do finish and release an official application then this app will def be worth the download and highly suggest that everyone uses it (once official).

    You can view Bee Jives website by clicking here

    You can download the beta app for your storm by clicking here or going to www.beejive/storm






  2. #2
    jlevy73's Avatar
    jlevy73 is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Device
    9630/9550/9530/
    Posts
    8,538
    Liked
    6 times
    Nice review of this app. I gave this a shot as well but as you stated and I quote, Secondly is a bug that real bugs the hell out of me. If you receive an IM from someone the notification bubble will do its job by alerting you as well as the LED light. BUT when you open the chat box to talk with that person, you do not see what they actually said. Its jsut a blank IM screen. This is def one of the major things that needs to be fixed." This to me was extremely annoying still don't get how they could release this with such a bug. It was also killing my battery and noticed that performance on my phone became sluggish. So I killed this app. When it comes out of beta I will give it another shot but not until then. There are just too many issues with it right now for me to want to keep it.

  3. #3
    Shane's Avatar
    Shane is offline BlackBerryOS Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pa
    PIN
    yes
    OS
    5.0.xxx/.40
    Posts
    1,626
    Liked
    0 times
    Nice findings Skullz. Thanks for the input.

  4. #4
    cruznthru's Avatar
    cruznthru is offline BlackBerryOS Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Device
    9650 & 9530
    Posts
    793
    Liked
    5 times
    Cant live with those bugs...no way.
    Nice job on the narrative.

  5. #5
    cheech92007 is offline BlackBerryOS Friend Follow cheech92007 On Twitter
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    PIN
    NEVER!!!
    Device
    Storm
    OS
    5.0+
    Posts
    23
    Liked
    0 times
    Very nice job!

  6. #6
    fwdiva's Avatar
    fwdiva is offline BlackBerryOS Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ~DFW Baby!!
    PIN
    ask me ;o)~
    Device
    Storm
    OS
    5.0.0.419
    Posts
    57
    Liked
    0 times
    Ok, sorry for my ignorance, but is this still in beta? When I go to the site it doesn't mention it, how will I know?Will you be updating this post? Thanks!

    I would love to get this app!!

  7. #7
    sunkast Guest
    It is not in beta.

  8. #8
    fwdiva's Avatar
    fwdiva is offline BlackBerryOS Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ~DFW Baby!!
    PIN
    ask me ;o)~
    Device
    Storm
    OS
    5.0.0.419
    Posts
    57
    Liked
    0 times

    Thanks!

    Quote Originally Posted by sunkast View Post
    It is not in beta.

    I just looked at others posts in this forum showing it is out of beta, but thanks for the heads up. I just purchased a license and it's working good so far. :banana:

  9. #9
    Natemz's Avatar
    Natemz is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard Follow Natemz On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    PIN
    DROOOOIIII
    Device
    Droid X
    Posts
    3,209
    Liked
    19 times
    Quote Originally Posted by fwdiva View Post
    I just looked at others posts in this forum showing it is out of beta, but thanks for the heads up. I just purchased a license and it's working good so far. :banana:
    This post was started early last year. BeeJive has been out for a while now. I am closing this post due to the outdated info in the OP.

    Feel free to continue this discussion HERE

    Thanks
    Last edited by Natemz; 01-20-2010 at 03:21 PM.
    Droooooiiiiiid!
    Follow me @Natemz

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •