BlackberryOS Powermat Review
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: BlackberryOS Powermat Review

  1. #1
    Stiefler is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard Follow Stiefler On Twitter
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Device
    Moto Droid/HTC Eris
    OS
    2.0.1/2.1
    Posts
    3,385
    Liked
    4 times

    BlackberryOS Powermat Review

    I am very excited and pleased to bring all of our BlackberryOS members here a FULL review of Powermat. Enjoy!



    Build/Design
    The Powermat design and build are stellar. Within the first moments of opening the box, the first thing that was noticed was it was solid. Not only is the build solid, the design is very appealing, one could set it anywhere and be happy with how it looks with the surroundings. The mat does not feel cheap nor does it look cheap. Around the outside of the mat, there is silver plastic to give a dull chrome look, and no this is not thin plastic, the build feels very solid. The mat itself feels great as well, it has a smooth texture and very durable feel.


    Charging
    A lot of mobile users are asking question on the charging the Powermat provides, as in how fast and whether or not it keeps its charge as it would from a wall charger. I tested both Powermats (travelers and home/office units) with three devices, my personal BlackBerry Tour 9630, BlackBerry Curve 8330, and my iPhone 3G. They were all on the mat at the same time. The home and office mat seemed like it charged all units a bit faster than the travelers pad. Times are listed below:


    • Home/Office Pad:

    Tour (no case): Charged completely from 10% of battery in about 1 hour and 45 minutes.
    Curve: Was dead when charged and fully charged within 2 hours.
    iPhone: Seemed to charge the fastest as it had a 25% battery and was fully charged in just over an hour.

    • Travelers Pad:

    Tour (no case): Was tested at same battery level and for a complete charge took around 2 hours.
    Curve: Was tested with 30% battery and this took an hour and half.
    iPhone: the iPhone was tested with same battery and took about 1 hour and 20 minutes.

    With all the devices tested, the battery life was the same as if it was charged from the wall. I noticed no drop in time of uses. This is great news as the life of the battery means a lot to users and they will be able to stress their phones the same as before. In addition, when the phones or devices are fully charged, the mat cuts off the power to that cell or multiple cells, thus drawing no more power.



    Convenience:
    Convenience is what the Powermat is all about. The home/office mat allows you to get rid of all the spaghetti wires for all the devices being charged. Just simply plug-in the one outlet and start placing your devices on the mat, this allows users to clean up quite a bit of wires and messes. Did I mention the travelers pad folds up? Sure does, perfect for many travelers alike and highly convenient for many users even at home as it is made for easy storage.


    Features:
    Powermat offers tons of features with the pad itself and also accessories received with the pad. The mat features a great black look and silver trim as discussed before. There are lights to alert you that device is being charged, the lights also have a button on the back of the mats for dimming the light, making the light brighter, and not showing any light at the users convenience. Along with the lights, the mat makes a “zwing” type sound when the device is placed on the mat and is charging. Just like the lights, the sound has options to turn up and down the loudness of the sound and also shutting the sound off. Both mats also come with a USB port on the back for devices that are charged specifically with a USB cable, whis is a great feature. When placing a device on the pad to charge, the case causes a “handshake” which makes the phone vibrate to alert the user the device is properly aligned and can create faster charging. With the travelers pad, users receive a small case that is magnetically pulled together for ease of traveling with the pad and charger. Each mat comes with a accessories kit with 8 universal tips for multiple devices. Tips are as follows, Nitendo DS and DSi, Samsung, Sony, Apple, Micro USB, LG, and also a mini USB that is used on the adaptor. With so many tips, one could charge a very wide range of devices if you do not have the charger cases. In addition to the tips, users receive a power box and also a tip storage box.


    Cases:
    If you are worried about using a case full time on your device for easier use of Powermat, do not worry as the cases do not add very much bulk at all. I have my iPhone case on full time and it actually feels better in my hands. BlackBerry devices receive a battery cover and not a case. The cases and covers feel very sturdy and durable as I dropped my iPhone and Curve to test how they would handle it. Without a hitch they passed with flying colors. Also, on the back of the case or cover is a magnetic square where the Powermat charges the device, unfortunately not all devices are supported yet.

    Pricing:
    The home/office and travelers mat both sell for $99 a piece which includes the case (traverlers mat only) and the accessories kit. Cases for select phones range and devices from $29.99-$39.99 which are sold separately from the mats. Great price for all the features offered and received.

    Does it work as directed?
    The Powermat fully works as directed and looks great while doing the work. Tons of features and great amount of accessories for the price.

    How does it work?
    Powermat uses magnetic induction. Instead of conductivity the mat uses inductive technology. This technology is also safer, more cost efficient, and also allows you to work with water so the Powermat is safe to get wet.

    Pros:
    Tons of features, tons of options, no order in which to place devices on the mat, sleek looking, durable, small and lightweight, quality of product and accessories.

    Cons:
    Not all devices are supported at the moment including the Storm and Tour, price may seem high but very reasonable.

    Imagine the day that all mobile device makers incorporate this technology into their products (I.E. Research In Motion, Apple, Samsung, Nokia, Sony, etc.). The day of wall chargers will be over and we will welcome the days of Powermat. Powermat is convenience right in your kitchen, living room, and even bedrooms that will help prevent wire messes and welcome innovation.

    Final Rating 4.5


    *More images below*

    Check out Powermat at their website
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails BlackberryOS Powermat Review-1.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-2.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-3.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-4.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-5.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-6.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-7.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-8.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-9.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-10.jpg  

    Last edited by Brett Wyman; 10-24-2009 at 05:22 PM.




  2. #2
    Stiefler is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard Follow Stiefler On Twitter
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Device
    Moto Droid/HTC Eris
    OS
    2.0.1/2.1
    Posts
    3,385
    Liked
    4 times
    reserved for more attachments.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails BlackberryOS Powermat Review-11.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-13.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-14.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-15.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-16.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-17.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-18.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-19.jpg   BlackberryOS Powermat Review-20.jpg  
    Last edited by Brett Wyman; 10-24-2009 at 05:23 PM.

  3. #3
    Rellims's Avatar
    Rellims is offline BlackBerryOS Fanatic Follow Rellims On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Denver
    PIN
    EAPPLE...Y
    Device
    9550
    OS
    5.0.whatever is newe
    Posts
    1,102
    Liked
    5 times
    Nice write up. I would be buying one today if the storm was compatible.
    See all of my free themes by clicking
    HERE
    Follow me on Twitter @1rellims

  4. #4
    sherb's Avatar
    sherb is offline BlackBerryOS Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    PIN
    217C6DC3
    Device
    Bold 9700
    OS
    5.0.0.351
    Posts
    80
    Liked
    0 times
    looks pretty cool. maybe i'll consider one instead of the charging pod for my 9700 when i get it. is the pull from the magnets strong enough to wall mount it? if it was i think this would work perfectly next to my bed. was also wondering with the back cover on does it still fit in the oem holsters?

  5. #5
    Natemz's Avatar
    Natemz is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard Follow Natemz On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee
    PIN
    DROOOOIIII
    Device
    Droid X
    Posts
    3,209
    Liked
    19 times
    Looks nice. It would be nice if they offered Storm support.
    Droooooiiiiiid!
    Follow me @Natemz

  6. #6
    Brett Wyman is offline BlackBerryOS Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    CT
    Device
    Tour
    OS
    .230
    Posts
    2,198
    Liked
    7 times
    I was interested in this until I saw we had to replace our battery door with their own and logo plastered on it.

  7. #7
    Le0_Br4zuC4's Avatar
    Le0_Br4zuC4 is offline BlackBerryOS Gifted
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Miami
    PIN
    30FB551F
    Device
    BlackBerry Stor
    OS
    5.0.0.320
    Posts
    398
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Natemz View Post
    Looks nice. It would be nice if they offered Storm support.
    Up to this point I just hope they will support the Storm 2 SOON :1244:

    Follow me on Twiter
    [/URL][/CENTER][/SIZE]
    Le0_Br4zUc4 - BlackBerry Storm 2 9550 Running 5.0.0.428

  8. #8
    george123ross's Avatar
    george123ross is offline BlackBerryOS Inspired Follow george123ross On Twitter
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Spain
    PIN
    30D29E43
    Device
    Blackberry Tour 9630
    OS
    5.0.0.191
    Posts
    129
    Liked
    0 times
    wow nice charging pad but not for tour so no go for me

  9. #9
    Stiefler is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard Follow Stiefler On Twitter
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Device
    Moto Droid/HTC Eris
    OS
    2.0.1/2.1
    Posts
    3,385
    Liked
    4 times
    Quote Originally Posted by sherb View Post
    looks pretty cool. maybe i'll consider one instead of the charging pod for my 9700 when i get it. is the pull from the magnets strong enough to wall mount it? if it was i think this would work perfectly next to my bed. was also wondering with the back cover on does it still fit in the oem holsters?
    No the magnets in the mat are not strong enough for that
    Posted via BlackBerry device

  10. #10
    Corey Darling is offline BlackBerryOS Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    97
    Liked
    0 times
    Very neat, I'd buy one if only it had a storm adapter

  11. #11
    doorules is offline BlackBerryOS Friend
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    42
    Liked
    0 times
    this is the best part of the powermat....Powermat - What the Bleep? - Office (Full Version) - Video - YouTube
    couldn't resist

  12. #12
    TommyGrubz's Avatar
    TommyGrubz is offline BlackBerryOS Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Virginia Beach
    PIN
    stripes on
    Device
    8330 / 9530 / M
    OS
    VZW official Curve O
    Posts
    501
    Liked
    4 times
    Nice pink 8330! You don't have to lie, we know that's really your personal and favorite phone! :lmao:

  13. #13
    AngelDamien is offline BlackBerryOS Friend
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Device
    Storm 9530
    OS
    5.0.0.323
    Posts
    17
    Liked
    0 times
    No storm + chunky battery door?

  14. #14
    GSM PLEX is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    PIN
    Scan It
    Device
    8900, BOLD, iPhone 3G
    OS
    8900.250/Bold:Hybrid's/iPhone 3.0.1
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times

  15. #15
    AaronZandman@gmail.com is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times

    CheckThis out

    Love he review TY!!
    I did some seaching and this is where I bought mine. Cheapest ever.
    Powermat and One Receiver Combo / Free Shipping **WOW** - eBay (item 220498155847 end time Nov-19-09 12:29:49 PST)
    http:// tinyurl.c om/yjvc3ou
    Remove the spaces!!

    Its a store and from what I can see they have the best prices.
    In addition They have been giving some away every week
    They are calling it "Customer appreciation"

    I love it and I can see the potential of future applications with this device.

    Thnx again

  16. #16
    rukus is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times
    for those of you who own a storm..it can be charged with this mat..there is an extra "block" that has several universal tips..and the micro tip fits the storm fine and the tour..as you can see in some of the images the white block is what im talking about...so yea it works.i also own a storm as well as others and am able to charge them all with the mats

  17. #17
    Corey Darling is offline BlackBerryOS Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    97
    Liked
    0 times
    Ya but that defeats the point of a cordless charging mat if I still have to plug it into something. But it is an improvement over taking up wall sockets.
    Last edited by Corey Darling; 10-26-2009 at 12:21 PM.

  18. #18
    sherb's Avatar
    sherb is offline BlackBerryOS Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    PIN
    217C6DC3
    Device
    Bold 9700
    OS
    5.0.0.351
    Posts
    80
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Stiefler View Post
    No the magnets in the mat are not strong enough for that
    Posted via BlackBerry device
    damn... well still a cool charging mat but i'll stick with my charging pods for now.

  19. #19
    rukus is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Corey Darling View Post
    Ya but that defeats the point of a cordless charging mat if I still have to plug it into something. But it is an improvement over taking up wall sockets.
    never said it made it easier lol..just said u could do it

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •