Unique Skins Product Review
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Unique Skins Product Review

  1. #1
    Brett Wyman is offline BlackBerryOS Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    CT
    Device
    Tour
    OS
    .230
    Posts
    2,198
    Liked
    7 times

    Unique Skins Product Review



    In the past I have come across Unique Skins advertisement some where but never would visit their site. When it comes to covers, cases, 3M stickers, there are hundreds of companies out there that supply you with any style you want for your Blackberry. I'm very picky when it comes to my Blackberries. I've done reviews for different cases and skins but it is rare for me to like it and keep it on my device. Rukus over at BerryAddict.com is giving away 10 free gift cards for Unique Skins and I finally found myself on Unique Skins website for the first time. I was skeptical at first but when I received the product in the mail and finished applying it. They apply nicely and can be removed with no residue left behind. I was shocked and blown away by how much I love it!


    inline image




    When you start to design your Unique Skin on their website, an applet opens up with different options, features, pictures, colors, etc for you to design your Blackberry. To a first timer, it will seem a little confusing to figure out what this does or that does and how to make this smaller or remove this. Once you finally figure everything out and have customized it to the way you want it you can them submit your order. If you submit it early enough in the day, your order will most likely be processed and shipped that same day. Mine was processed and shipped on Monday and I had it in my hands the next morning at 10:37am. Very impressive!!

    Opening the package from Unique Skins, you pull out a 3M sheet with your Blackberry phone template. Finally being able to get my hands on the product I was at first disappointed, I was hoping for it to be a little bit more thicker, it just seemed like it would rip easily. Yet, as I was peeling the first piece off, you then feel that even though its a thin piece, it's going to be hard to rip this or puncture it.



    inline image




    I wanted the black out look. I like having it look slick. So I had everything black with our logo on the battery cover and our url under the keypad to hide the Verizon logo. On the Tour, the front piece comes with 3 sections. The top (above the screen), the middle (trackball and keys) and the bottom (below the keypad). Before anything, I wanted to quickly get rid of that Verizon logo so I started there. Unique Skins provides quick directions as to how to apply the skin. Obviously, clean the area first. They also say that once you apply it and then remove it, it can not be reused again. Well, that is totally not true. If you're impatient like me then you will be removing each some pieces a few times to get them to line up properly. Then I moved upwards and applied the middle pieces. The middle piece comes in three parts. Two smaller ones to cover the phone keys and then one larger piece to cover the BB menu, wrap around the trackball and the back button. Then applied the top and then I just sat back just admired how much better it made the phone look. The light on the covered buttons still comes through a little which is ok but it still looks awesome! So I flipped it over and started getting the back ready.




    inline image




    When it came to the back of the Tour, I was not sure how it was going to look since the Tour has that middle carbon fiber piece. I was actually hesitant about putting it on for a few minutes. If it doesn't look good I can just take it off. I removed the battery cover and lined up the edges and applied. After making sure every part of the 3M was sticking, I couldn't believe how good it looked. It still showed the carbon fiber texture and lines as well as the RIM logo. At this point I have a smile on my face because it looks so good and I don't really get all that excited over products, unless its a new Blackberry of course. I put the battery cover back on and guess what. It "fixes" the loose battery cover problem. It sits nice and tight and has no play in it. Just adds to the reasons I like Unique Skins now.

    Lastly, I applied the top half to the back and just looked at my Tour. It now looks like a different phone. Its all blacked out, slicked looking and just looks awesome.

    To recap everything...I've put off visiting UniqueSkins.com because I figured they were just another company, selling something that is appealing in pictures but won't be the same when you get it. I can admit, I was wrong. Very wrong. The printing and quality of the product is perfect and looks amazing on the phone. It is pretty easy to install, just requires a bit of patience and non shaky hands.

    Not only do they sell skins for Blackberry devices and other phones, they also provide skins for laptops and gaming devices. I actually also ordered a 17" laptop monitor skin of our logo and it looks pretty damn sweet! I def would recommend that you guys go check them out and place an order. It's not expensive at all, between 6.99 - 29.99 for their gel skins.

    Take a look at some of the pics I took of the skin on the Tour.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Unique Skins Product Review-3s.jpg   Unique Skins Product Review-4s.jpg   Unique Skins Product Review-5s.jpg   Unique Skins Product Review-6s.jpg   Unique Skins Product Review-7s.jpg   Unique Skins Product Review-10s.jpg   Unique Skins Product Review-9s.jpg  




  2. #2
    bbcrackman's Avatar
    bbcrackman is offline BlackBerryOS Grand Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    PIN
    yes
    Device
    9000/9530/9630/
    OS
    5.0.0.3xx
    Posts
    2,902
    Liked
    5 times
    Looks sweet! Now I am going to have to order one....

  3. #3
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Very cool! Dang it more money that my wife won't understand at:

  4. #4
    Stiefler is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard Follow Stiefler On Twitter
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Device
    Moto Droid/HTC Eris
    OS
    2.0.1/2.1
    Posts
    3,385
    Liked
    4 times
    Wow makes me jealous!!!

  5. #5
    Brett Wyman is offline BlackBerryOS Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    CT
    Device
    Tour
    OS
    .230
    Posts
    2,198
    Liked
    7 times
    Only 6.99 guys. You can hide it from the other half :-p

  6. #6
    Stiefler is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard Follow Stiefler On Twitter
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Device
    Moto Droid/HTC Eris
    OS
    2.0.1/2.1
    Posts
    3,385
    Liked
    4 times
    Quote Originally Posted by BlackberryOS View Post
    Only 6.99 guys. You can hide it from the other half :-p
    I am getting use to the adding pictures and such on this :lmao:

  7. #7
    P3Designs's Avatar
    P3Designs is offline BlackBerryOS Addict Follow P3Designs On Twitter
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Arizona
    PIN
    ky Swear O
    Device
    Droid/Storm/Cur
    OS
    5.0.0.238
    Posts
    753
    Liked
    1 times
    That is one nice skin...how does it feel in the hand?

  8. #8
    Brett Wyman is offline BlackBerryOS Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    CT
    Device
    Tour
    OS
    .230
    Posts
    2,198
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by P3Designs View Post
    That is one nice skin...how does it feel in the hand?
    It actually feels better, if that sounds stupid. Since the battery cover does not move around it has that 'sturdy' feel to it.

  9. #9
    P3Designs's Avatar
    P3Designs is offline BlackBerryOS Addict Follow P3Designs On Twitter
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Arizona
    PIN
    ky Swear O
    Device
    Droid/Storm/Cur
    OS
    5.0.0.238
    Posts
    753
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by BlackberryOS View Post
    It actually feels better, if that sounds stupid. Since the battery cover does not move around it has that 'sturdy' feel to it.

    Thanks, I hated the moving battery cover on the phone, think it will look good on the Storm2 :cool2:

  10. #10
    berryuser is offline BlackBerryOS Inspired
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Device
    Motorola Razr2
    Posts
    145
    Liked
    0 times
    love the sleek looking effect it gives overall :biggthumpup:

  11. #11
    EnvyV07 is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    PIN
    304C9B6F
    Device
    Storm
    OS
    4.7.0.148
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times
    wow, that looks reall nice.

  12. #12
    Seanren78's Avatar
    Seanren78 is offline BlackBerryOS Master Follow Seanren78 On Twitter
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hermosa Beach, CA
    PIN
    Ask Me
    Device
    9550
    OS
    Personalized Hybrid
    Posts
    2,179
    Liked
    0 times
    Wow looks great....now get one for the storm.
    Driphter.com Co-Owner

  13. #13
    Brett Wyman is offline BlackBerryOS Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    CT
    Device
    Tour
    OS
    .230
    Posts
    2,198
    Liked
    7 times
    Hey guys, as you know I did a review of this skin on the Tour, I just got the skins in for the Storm and the 8830 as well. I was not able to get the greatest of pictures due to some one in the office using my camera and killing the batteries (GR) so I will take a few others with better quality. For now here is what I was able to get. I personally think they look awesome!



    Left to right : Tour, Storm, 8830. Looks sexy!





    Like I said, I will get pictures of the fronts in the morning. Batteries are recharging right now. If you want to get your own BlackberryOS Unique Skin, simply click the banner that is on the forums main page and you can design your own.

    I have a gel skin for the Tour on its way to me as well, so once that gets in i will continue this review further. Each of these skins cost me 6.99. Cheap price, high quality product!

  14. #14
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Very cool BBOS thanks for posting these up, they look great!

  15. #15
    mickbali123 is offline BlackBerryOS Noobie Follow mickbali123 On Twitter
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    PIN
    85648
    Device
    8900
    OS
    AMD Athlon 64
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times
    Hi everyone.
    I am buying a new blackberry phone soon having elegant skin so while searching on internet i found a website DecalSkin.com:Laptop Skins, LG Skins, Blackberry Skins, iPhone Skins, PS3 Skins ,
    Is this website is really good in providing blackberry with nice skins?

  16. #16
    sunkast Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by mickbali123 View Post
    Hi everyone.
    I am buying a new blackberry phone soon having elegant skin so while searching on internet i found a website DecalSkin.com:Laptop Skins, LG Skins, Blackberry Skins, iPhone Skins, PS3 Skins ,
    Is this website is really good in providing blackberry with nice skins?
    I'm not familiar with that site, so I couldn't tell you one way or another if they are good.

  17. #17
    jcorv58's Avatar
    jcorv58 is offline BlackBerryOS Inspired
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    MN
    PIN
    223A7502
    Device
    Bold 9700
    OS
    .743
    Posts
    146
    Liked
    0 times
    Just to warn some people: Do not buy this for the storm 2, the skin for the front of the phone is not cut right, I ordered 2 skins and both are cut ridiculously off, grrrrr
    Ya know what's funny... I always thought that umm... dogs laid eggs, and I learned something today!!! :-)
    http://www.blackberryos.com/image-fi...tterbanner.png
    Rules and Guidelines l Upgrade Your OS | Resource Center

  18. #18
    Brett Wyman is offline BlackBerryOS Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    CT
    Device
    Tour
    OS
    .230
    Posts
    2,198
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jcorv58 View Post
    Just to warn some people: Do not buy this for the storm 2, the skin for the front of the phone is not cut right, I ordered 2 skins and both are cut ridiculously off, grrrrr
    Really. That is not good. Have you contacted them about it? Can you take any pics just so we can see how bad.

  19. #19
    jcorv58's Avatar
    jcorv58 is offline BlackBerryOS Inspired
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    MN
    PIN
    223A7502
    Device
    Bold 9700
    OS
    .743
    Posts
    146
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Brett Wyman View Post
    Really. That is not good. Have you contacted them about it? Can you take any pics just so we can see how bad.
    I did contact them, gonna have to wait to see if I get a reply this time since they didn't reply to my last e-mail I sent 1 week ago. I'm not gonna lose sleep over it but it sure upsets me. I never thought to take pics of the front skin-if I try to line it up so the earpiece isn't covered then it overlaps onto the screen-both the bottom and top part. I actually just got done just cutting it up and doing a custom fit myself (looks like crap ) but I at least thought I'd see what it'd look like. at least the back looks good
    Ya know what's funny... I always thought that umm... dogs laid eggs, and I learned something today!!! :-)
    http://www.blackberryos.com/image-fi...tterbanner.png
    Rules and Guidelines l Upgrade Your OS | Resource Center

  20. #20
    Brett Wyman is offline BlackBerryOS Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    CT
    Device
    Tour
    OS
    .230
    Posts
    2,198
    Liked
    7 times
    You have to e-mail them a lot to get a reply. I have unique skins on all my devices and I had to "custom cut" some pieces myself but they turned out pretty nice looking

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •