11/3 review of the droid
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 29

Thread: 11/3 review of the droid

  1. #1
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide is offline BlackBerryOS Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    bama
    PIN
    what's tha
    Device
    DROID
    OS
    2.0
    Posts
    1,210
    Liked
    0 times

    11/3 review of the droid

    by BGR


    :1244:
    lighten up....life's too short!


  2. #2
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Just got through reading it, very detailed and well written. Some issue that cause me pause most notably the camera. I use that quite a bit with a 3 year old running around. It won't keep me from buying the phone but I hope to see a different outcome on mine

  3. #3
    jlevy73's Avatar
    jlevy73 is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Device
    9630/9550/9530/
    Posts
    8,538
    Liked
    6 times
    When I played with it Bryan, the camera was simply stunning IMO. The Storm has a nice camera but I thought the Droid took significantly better pics.

  4. #4
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jlevy73 View Post
    When I played with it Bryan, the camera was simply stunning IMO. The Storm has a nice camera but I thought the Droid took significantly better pics.
    Yeah see you aren't the only that has stated that? So I am really hoping for a faulty phone on BGR's part. Some of the other reviews I have read have just raved about the camera and the video camera

  5. #5
    jlevy73's Avatar
    jlevy73 is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Device
    9630/9550/9530/
    Posts
    8,538
    Liked
    6 times
    And if you recall I pointed out what a crappy phone it was (from a reception point of view) but from the BGR review he raved about it.

  6. #6
    Bryan is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein Follow Bryan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    8,535
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jlevy73 View Post
    And if you recall I pointed out what a crappy phone it was (from a reception point of view) but from the BGR review he raved about it.
    I haven't read a review on it yet that had bad marks for the phone quality so I blame you :lmao:

  7. #7
    jlevy73's Avatar
    jlevy73 is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Device
    9630/9550/9530/
    Posts
    8,538
    Liked
    6 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan View Post
    I haven't read a review on it yet that had bad marks for the phone quality so I blame you :lmao:
    I blame the smog in LA :haha:

  8. #8
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide is offline BlackBerryOS Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    bama
    PIN
    what's tha
    Device
    DROID
    OS
    2.0
    Posts
    1,210
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan View Post
    Just got through reading it, very detailed and well written. Some issue that cause me pause most notably the camera. I use that quite a bit with a 3 year old running around. It won't keep me from buying the phone but I hope to see a different outcome on mine
    they also noted that they thought it was software related. anyone know how fast android pushes out updates?
    :1244:
    lighten up....life's too short!

  9. #9
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide is offline BlackBerryOS Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    bama
    PIN
    what's tha
    Device
    DROID
    OS
    2.0
    Posts
    1,210
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan View Post
    I haven't read a review on it yet that had bad marks for the phone quality so I blame you :lmao:
    Quote Originally Posted by jlevy73 View Post
    I blame the smog in LA :haha:
    when your wife couldn't hear you...did you take your mask off?
    :1244:
    lighten up....life's too short!

  10. #10
    jlevy73's Avatar
    jlevy73 is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Device
    9630/9550/9530/
    Posts
    8,538
    Liked
    6 times
    Quote Originally Posted by catstide View Post
    they also noted that they thought it was software related. anyone know how fast android pushes out updates?
    From another forum I read that OS 2.1 was in the works. Beyond that, it's hard to say with any certainty. I guess time will tell.

  11. #11
    jlevy73's Avatar
    jlevy73 is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Device
    9630/9550/9530/
    Posts
    8,538
    Liked
    6 times
    Quote Originally Posted by catstide View Post
    when your wife couldn't hear you...did you take your mask off?
    I dare not take the mask off :no:

  12. #12
    catstide's Avatar
    catstide is offline BlackBerryOS Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    bama
    PIN
    what's tha
    Device
    DROID
    OS
    2.0
    Posts
    1,210
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jlevy73 View Post
    I dare not take the mask off :no:
    :laugh2: i actually LOL'ed
    :1244:
    lighten up....life's too short!

  13. #13
    terribL_T's Avatar
    terribL_T is offline BlackBerryOS Inspired Follow terribL_T On Twitter
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    OH
    Device
    Storm 9530
    OS
    Latest & Greatest
    Posts
    107
    Liked
    0 times
    How loud is the speaker compared to Storm1?

  14. #14
    Spector5's Avatar
    Spector5 is offline BlackBerryOS Inspired Follow Spector5 On Twitter
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    NY
    PIN
    HEAD
    Device
    DROID
    OS
    rooted 2.1
    Posts
    186
    Liked
    1 times
    I watched the review on cnet, and in the pros and cons, they said the pictures they took were on the pinkish side, they have one posted to show - wonder if it was just they're unit they used - and a software issue too....

  15. #15
    sunkast Guest
    I would take anything CNet says with a tablespoon full of salt.

  16. #16
    jnepsa's Avatar
    jnepsa is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    ohio
    PIN
    ch me then
    Device
    9550 Storm 2
    OS
    5.0.0.428
    Posts
    4,387
    Liked
    5 times
    I have to agree with sun here... it seems to be that if cnet isnt reviewing an apple product its junk

  17. #17
    Spector5's Avatar
    Spector5 is offline BlackBerryOS Inspired Follow Spector5 On Twitter
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    NY
    PIN
    HEAD
    Device
    DROID
    OS
    rooted 2.1
    Posts
    186
    Liked
    1 times
    I agree with you both, but they did give it a great review overall - just the camera issue they talked of seems to be an issue some others are talking about too. I was just hoping that its a software issue,and it can be addressed. It would suck for a 5MP camera to have an issue that wouldn't be fixable - but it seems like it's not hardware, so that's a good thing!

  18. #18
    Drukan's Avatar
    Drukan is offline BlackBerryOS Gifted
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    PHX , AZ
    Device
    9530
    OS
    5.0.0.323
    Posts
    288
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jlevy73 View Post
    From another forum I read that OS 2.1 was in the works. Beyond that, it's hard to say with any certainty. I guess time will tell.
    ive heard of this also in quite a few different places... (ive been diggin up everything, aswell as reading every lil thing Cat posts..)

    2.1 is already in developmet and is said to be a "bug fixer" update to 2.0.
    2.0 will still be the "base OS" with the .1 just updating the lil things in the known issues list.

  19. #19
    jlevy73's Avatar
    jlevy73 is offline BlackBerryOS Einstein
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Device
    9630/9550/9530/
    Posts
    8,538
    Liked
    6 times
    For all those asking about the camera, after playing with the Droid for 30 minutes I thought the picture quality was awesome compared to the S2. And the S2 does snap some pretty good photos IMO. Could be that CNET had a bad unit or mine was good, either way we will all find out together 11/6.

  20. #20
    Drukan's Avatar
    Drukan is offline BlackBerryOS Gifted
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    PHX , AZ
    Device
    9530
    OS
    5.0.0.323
    Posts
    288
    Liked
    0 times
    HAHAHA..... this is the funiest $h!t ive ever read....

    Quote:
    You want one word to describe the screen? Stunning. A 3.7″ WVGA 854×480 capacitive high-quality display? We’ll take three. Like we said in our preview, it’s the best screen we’ve ever seen on an Android device and possibly in general.
    (then at the end of that section)...
    As we said, it’s second only to the iPhone as far as capacitive screens go, and coupled with the rest of the DROID, it’s a real winner.


    I love how thay say its the best screen on an ANDROID phone... well duh, its the NEWEST THING OUT... but then... they say its second to the iPhone... that has nearly HALF the resolution???? I laugh at these iPhone bias'd, BLEEEEEEEEPS...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •