Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 8 of 16

Thread: App Permissions

  1. #1
    Orio's Avatar
    Orio is offline BlackBerryOS Fanatic
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Christiansburg, VA
    PIN
    ch hitter.
    Device
    storm2 9550 VZW
    Posts
    1,304

    App Permissions

    I have a question that has been baffling me since .428 leaked. When I load a hybrid, whether I wipe, or don't wipe...whether I delete certain 3rd party apps first or not, I have been having issues with my "default permissions". My phone will boot up asking me to allow access for Poynt, and meterberry. I change all my permissions to ALLOW, apply to all apps, save, and do battery pull. Phone reboots with same popup notices and 1st two permission categories,( connections & interactions ) set to CUSTOM. If I set them all to allow again, apply to all, save, batt pull....on reboot same popup notices and the 1st two are CUSTOM again. So I delete Poynt, and meterberry, set all to allow, save and reboot...1st two still custom....and now getting popup asking permission for BerryBuzz, so I delete it....basically I have to delete Poynt, meterberry, berrybuzz, sometimes my theme, and this last time BerryBlab, before my permissions will reboot with all as ALLOW.

    Now once the permissions will save as ALLOW, I can reload these apps and all will be fine, permissions will stay as ALLOW on reboots, and apps work fine. Changing a hybrid now has become a "mission" for me !! Anybody else experienced this? Is there something so basic I am missing that I should prepare for my embarrassment? I get everything to work, but it's an "over an hour" ordeal. Thank you my friends...in advance.



  2. #2
    TemperamentalMan's Avatar
    TemperamentalMan is offline BlackBerryOS Addict Follow TemperamentalMan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    PIN
    's and nee
    Device
    9550
    OS
    5.0.0.607
    Posts
    937
    Quote Originally Posted by Orio View Post
    I have a question that has been baffling me since .428 leaked. When I load a hybrid, whether I wipe, or don't wipe...whether I delete certain 3rd party apps first or not, I have been having issues with my "default permissions". My phone will boot up asking me to allow access for Poynt, and meterberry. I change all my permissions to ALLOW, apply to all apps, save, and do battery pull. Phone reboots with same popup notices and 1st two permission categories,( connections & interactions ) set to CUSTOM. If I set them all to allow again, apply to all, save, batt pull....on reboot same popup notices and the 1st two are CUSTOM again. So I delete Poynt, and meterberry, set all to allow, save and reboot...1st two still custom....and now getting popup asking permission for BerryBuzz, so I delete it....basically I have to delete Poynt, meterberry, berrybuzz, sometimes my theme, and this last time BerryBlab, before my permissions will reboot with all as ALLOW.

    Now once the permissions will save as ALLOW, I can reload these apps and all will be fine, permissions will stay as ALLOW on reboots, and apps work fine. Changing a hybrid now has become a "mission" for me !! Anybody else experienced this? Is there something so basic I am missing that I should prepare for my embarrassment? I get everything to work, but it's an "over an hour" ordeal. Thank you my friends...in advance.
    Wow. Enough crap in your signature??? :laugh2: J/K

    I have the permissions dialog on the first boot, select allow, save...and I never see them again. Are you sure you are saving the permission settings before the battery pull?

  3. #3
    Orio's Avatar
    Orio is offline BlackBerryOS Fanatic
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Christiansburg, VA
    PIN
    ch hitter.
    Device
    storm2 9550 VZW
    Posts
    1,304
    Yep...its really weird...and I am sure I could add more to my signature !! :biglaugh:
    Seriously though...this only started with me when .428 leaked. Never before on the multitudes of OS and hybrid changes I've done. Have kinda learned to live with it, but hard to believe this not more than just me that has this issue. So, I'm thinking I'm doing something different...or stupid...either one. Gonna do a Security Wipe next time.
    Posted via mobile device



  4. #4
    TemperamentalMan's Avatar
    TemperamentalMan is offline BlackBerryOS Addict Follow TemperamentalMan On Twitter
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    PIN
    's and nee
    Device
    9550
    OS
    5.0.0.607
    Posts
    937
    Quote Originally Posted by Orio View Post
    Yep...its really weird...and I am sure I could add more to my signature !! :biglaugh:
    Seriously though...this only started with me when .428 leaked. Never before on the multitudes of OS and hybrid changes I've done. Have kinda learned to live with it, but hard to believe this not more than just me that has this issue. So, I'm thinking I'm doing something different...or stupid...either one. Gonna do a Security Wipe next time.
    Posted via mobile device
    I always use BBSAK to wipe before any installation/update. That could be 99% of the problem. The 1% is operator error LOL

  5. #5
    Orio's Avatar
    Orio is offline BlackBerryOS Fanatic
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Christiansburg, VA
    PIN
    ch hitter.
    Device
    storm2 9550 VZW
    Posts
    1,304
    Haha...I wipe. I don't wipe. Same result...except I have been adding 3rd party apos back in while loading OS. Its gotta be an oddball thing...not the obvious stuff...or more folks would have the issue...instead of just me...at least so far...just me.
    Posted via mobile device



  6. #6
    jnepsa's Avatar
    jnepsa is offline BlackBerryOS Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    ohio
    PIN
    ch me then
    Device
    9550 Storm 2
    OS
    5.0.0.428
    Posts
    4,387
    When it pops up and asks you can you choose allow or deny there? and if so have you tried clicking the 'dont ask again' box?

  7. #7
    Prince Jah's Avatar
    Prince Jah is offline BlackBerryOS Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Beantown MA
    PIN
    NING 1 "CO
    Device
    S2 and Wifey S1
    OS
    Lyric(705H)/607 OS P
    Posts
    579
    I experience the same...I think only certain apps retain the "allow" permission settings..I gave up on trying to figuring it out..:aargh4::aargh4::aargh4::aargh4:

  8. #8
    Orio's Avatar
    Orio is offline BlackBerryOS Fanatic
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Christiansburg, VA
    PIN
    ch hitter.
    Device
    storm2 9550 VZW
    Posts
    1,304
    Quote Originally Posted by jnepsa View Post
    When it pops up and asks you can you choose allow or deny there? and if so have you tried clicking the 'dont ask again' box?
    I have always just clicked allow..and seeing as I am off early tomorrow, I an gonna do a security wipe, and a bbsak wipe. Reload my hybrid...and check both boxes...I'm gonna figure this out because its too bizarre !!! Thanks Neppers =)
    Posted via mobile device

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •